Need ~ A FMF Post

It’s Friday!  Yay!  It’s been a long week and yet, time is really passing quickly.  Maybe that’s because I’m getting older. {smile}.
Even though I am still not finished with the 31 Day Challenge, I wanted to participate in the regularly scheduled Five Minute Friday post today.  Why?  Because the prompt, when revealed last night, struck a cord in me. 
And GO….
As has become my practice, I like to share the definition of the word I am writing about. It helps give me focus on what I am writing.  The definition of NEED is:

a requirement, necessary duty, or obligation

a lack of something wanted or deemed necessary

urgent want, as of something requisite

necessity arising from the circumstances of a situation or case

a situation or time of difficulty; exigency

a condition marked by the lack of something requisite

destitution; extreme poverty

I began to think about what it is that I really NEED.  I thought of things that I quickly realized are actually wants.  There was nothing on the list – that I am a bit embarrassed to share – that keep me from living my life and even being joyful about the life I’m living.

So…I asked myself again…

What do I NEED?

And what I came up with was really simple.  I need Jesus.  Every second of every minute of every hour of every day.  I need His grace and mercy.  I need His love and compassion.  I need to be confident in the salvation that He freely gave to me.  That’s it.  That’s really all I NEED.

And the cool thing is that He provides all of that.  God’s Word tells us in Philippians 4:19 that He provides for us.

And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

I have to do my part in my relationship with Him to fully receive what He offers but it’s all there.

And STOP…

One more thing.  I wanted to share a favorite hymn from when I was a little girl.

Until next time…Joy to You!

 

This post is linked up with other bloggers over at FiveMinuteFriday.com.  If you have a moment, take a look at what the others have to say about NEED.

One thought on “Need ~ A FMF Post

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

