Listen ~ A 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes Post

31 Days ofFive Minute Free Writes(1)

Can you believe that 9 days have already come and gone in October?  Sometimes it’s hard for me to fathom how quickly time passes.  But alas, here we are on day 10 of the Write 31 Challenge.  Today’s Five Minute Free Write prompt is:LISTEN

And my timer is set…GO!

I’ll start today off with the definition.  According to the dictionary, LISTEN means:

to give attention with the ear; attend closely for the purpose of hearing

to pay attention; heed; obey (often followed by to)

to wait attentively for a sound (usually followed by for)

We all want to be heard.  But more than that, I think we all want others to really LISTEN to us.  There is a difference.  Often we hear and honestly, it’s like Charlie Brown’s teacher…”wah wah wah wah wah wah.”  We don’t give attention to the person speaking for the purpose of hearing.  That’s it…LISTENING is hearing with purpose.  Over and over in the Bible God called men to speak to His people and told this called man of God that the people would LISTEN.  And most of the time, they did.  And most of the time, they obeyed.  But then they forgot what they heard and they turned back to doubting God and His perfect plan for them and their descendants.

I want to LISTEN to God waiting attentively to hear His voice.  How do I do that?  Psalm 46:10 tells us to “Be still, and know that I am God….”

I realize that the verse doesn’t say LISTEN and know that I am God but honestly, we can’t LISTEN if we are not still.  And in the LISTENING we will know that He is God.  It’s a posture thing.  And I am so very guilty of allowing the busyness of the day keep me from even talking to God so LISTENING to Him is doubly hard.

I believe can hear His voice, when we are LISTENING for it, through reading His word.  I believe that we can hear His voice when we are communicating with Him in prayer.  And I think that we can even hear His voice when we are going about our daily activities thinking on the things above instead of binge watching our new favorite series. (I’m guilty of this one!)

And STOP…

Just one more thing, today I’d simply like to ask in closing…

What are you doing to LISTEN to the voice of God?

Until tomorrow…Joy to You!

signature

I’d be honored if you would click HERE to go to my landing page for this 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes.

4 thoughts on “Listen ~ A 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes Post

  1. I’m currently doing Pricilla Shire’s bible study, discerning the voice of God. This ties in perfectly with what we are learning. You have to be listening to hear his voice and being still and waiting is one of the most important parts. Thanks for your reflection.

    Like

  2. Oh, you’ve nailed it! There’s a big difference between hearing and listening. I’m learning (it took me long enough) to listen instead of just hear and compose my rebuttal in my head until the other person stopped talking!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

