Try ~ A Five Minute Friday Post

It’s Friday again!  Time just seems to fly by, especially in the summer.

Today is the day that I join together with other bloggers to write about one word ~ for five minutes.  The link-up is hosted by over at the Five Minute Friday site.   If you’d like to know more about it, click here.

Today’s word is ……And GO……

When I think of the word “try”, I think of my mom asking me to taste a different vegetable or food.   I wasn’t brave growing up.  As a matter of fact, I’m still not very brave when it comes to new things.

I’m a word nerd so I really wanted to know how the dictionary defines “try”.  There are two that stuck out to me:

to attempt to do or accomplish

to endeavor to evaluate by experiment or experience

The first goes with my mom wanting me to taste cabbage or liver ~ yuck!  The second took my heart and mind to one of the Psalms that I learned years ago.  Psalm 139:23 says,

Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts!

This verse has been included in many of my prayers over the years.  When I am upset or hurt…when I am nervous or anxious…when I want to head in a new direction, I pray these verses.  I ask the Lord to search me, to “try” me so that in the end I know that whatever I am headed into is with the right heart and motive.

STOP (As usual, I have a little more to say)

Whether “trying” laser tag for the first time or “trying” to start a prayer group at my church, I believe that the Lord wants us to “try” new things with the end result being to bring glory to Him.  I also know that there is another definition of the word that means “to test”.  Yes, we are tested sometimes by the Lord.  Not knowing that today’s word would be “try”, I wrote about being refined earlier in the week.  That kind of being “tried” leads to refinement.  It’s all necessary.  The new stuff and the hard stuff.  It’s not always fun but can always be glorifying to God.

Until next week…

Joy to You!

 

 

This post is linked up with others over at Five Minute Friday.  Please hop over and read what others are saying about the word “TRY”.

6 thoughts on “Try ~ A Five Minute Friday Post

  1. ” I ask the Lord to search me, to “try” me so that in the end I know that whatever I am headed into is with the right heart and motive.”
    This is my hope. I want to have the right heart. Sometimes I think I just fill myself up rather than think beyond the do to the why. Great post.
    Visiting from FMF #75.

    Like

  2. The verse from Psalm 139 is a wonderful one to keep in mind–especially when we are setting out to ry something new. Thought provoking post! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Like

  3. Wow, Robin! This took me in an entirely different direction with this word. I love your thoughts, your perspective, your insight. Thank you so much for sharing! And I also love that you weren’t afraid to keep writing! Ha! That’s me, also! A wordy word nerd. 🙂

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

