Measuring My Faith ~ A 31 Day Post (day 25)

31encouragment

What is FAITH?

If you look in the dictionary to discover what it is, you will find things like:

confidence or trust in a person or thing…..belief in God or in the doctrines or teachings of religion…..the obligation of loyalty or fidelity to a person, promise, engagement, etc.

The word FAITH appears in the English Standard Version of the Bible 475 times.  It’s important.  We learn that in Sunday School and Vacation Bible School when we are very young.  We know that God is FAITHful to us.  And we know that part of being a follower of Christ means that we are FAITHful to God.

But how do I measure up?  This 31 day series has been an outpouring of my heart sharing things I’ve learned in my walk with the Lord over the years.   Over the last year, I’ve learned that sometimes my FAITH is not as strong as I know it should be.  Oh, I can talk the talk.  But sometimes when it’s just me and God, I’m have to admit that my FAITH waivers.  I doubt and so I tell Him so.  I let Him know that I just don’t understand.

I love the devotions found in My Utmost for His Highest.  Over the past year, I wrote down a few excerpts from the book.  Take a look at what Oswald Chambers had to say about FAITH.

..the real trial of faith is not that we find it difficult to trust God, but that God’s character must be proven to us as trustworthy in our own minds…Faith, as the Bible teaches it, is faith in God coming against everything that contradicts Him – a faith that says, “I will remain true to God’s character whatever He may do.”  The highest and greatest expression of faith in the whole Bible is – “Though He slay me, yet I will trust Him.” (Job 13:15)

Let me clarify that I do not feel “slain” by any means.  But I do have things that have crossed the journey I am on that are just hard to swallow.  I’ve thought a good bit about Chambers’ statement, “…God’s character must be proven to us as trustworthy in our own minds…”  Why, when we know so much about God, would we need His character proven to us?  And more importantly, why do we need it proven over and over again?  It’s like we get it, and understand it, but once we are through one obstacle we need that proof all over again when the next thing comes.  Being reminded 100, or more, ways that God is FAITHful should be enough.   Kind of reminds me of the children of Israel!

I’ve mentioned the website Love God Greatly before in my writing.  In one of the studies that I did through their site, I came across the statement, “How we act reveals what we think about God…”  It’s true.  If the gospel has changed our hearts and minds…if we believe that God is who He says that He is…if we have confessed that we have FAITH in Him…then our actions should reveal that. 

I titled this post “Measuring My Faith”  because I’ve been really looking at and thinking about it a lot lately.  I have FAITH.  It’s part of the core of my being.  But is it seen in and through me by those around me?  I had a Sunday School teacher once that said, “you may be the only Jesus that others see.” (I’m not sure who originally coined the phrase.)  Though I didn’t fully understand that in the 4th or 5th grade, today, I do.  My faith, and how I live it out, reveals who God is to me.  That’s in good times and bad.

How about you?

Until tomorrow…

Joy to You!


 

 

2 thoughts on “Measuring My Faith ~ A 31 Day Post (day 25)

  1. Faith is harder said than done for many, especially me. I feel like the Israelites. He performs miracles; takes care of my needs. I want more and more. Faith though is not about wanting and getting gifts from God. It is trusting He has His best for us planned out. Thanks for sharing this encouraging and real word.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

