He Listens ~ A 31 Day Post (day 20)

31encouragment

Something I’ve been reminded of over the past year, is that God hears us when we earnestly and sincerely go to Him in prayer.  I’ve had it proven to me over and over again.  That proof has been shown over and over again in my Christian walk.  As I’ve written more than once during this 31 day challenge, we go through hard stuff.  And sometimes that stuff comes from other people.  Now it may not be from them directly but when they deliver news or do something that seems rude or mean, it’s hard not to want to strike back.

Psalm 66 speaks to this.  It says:

18 If I had cherished iniquity in my heart, the Lord would not have listened.

Iniquity means “a violation of right or duty; wicked act; sin.”  I mean, I’ll admit I sin.  But, I don’t think of myself as someone who does wicked acts.  My sins are what I would call little.  You know, a bad attitude or something like that.  Here’s the thing, if I hold onto bad attitudes or hurt from something someone said or did, I’m cherishing iniquity.

If I had stopped reading after verse 18, I would have missed the good news that follows.

19 But truly God has listened; he has attended to the voice of my prayer.

20 Blessed be God, because he has not rejected my prayer or removed his steadfast love from me!

Psalm 66 recounts the things that God has done.  It speaks of how the author (speculated to be David) comes into the presence of the Lord.  It speaks of being tested by the Lord, like silver is tried.  The result is that God listens when we go to Him with a clean heart.  And He does not remove His steadfast love from us.

That is a blessing!

Until tomorrow…

Joy to You!


 

 
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

