Always Quiet ~ A 31 Day Post (day 19)

31encouragment

We like movies in our house.  It’s not unusual for our family to settle in to a good movie – complete with popcorn, of course!

Anyway, we like all kinds of movies but especially like ones that share the message of the gospel.  One of our new favorites is “God’s Not Dead 2.”  Have you seen it?  Our family had watched it a few weeks ago and loved it.  We watched it again this past weekend with family visiting from out of town.  I always get something new out of a movie when I see it a second or third time.  That was the case with this one too.

Grace Wesley is the teacher on trial for sharing her faith in the classroom.  In actuality, she quoted the words of Jesus as a historical event but was still put on trial.  During the storyline of the trial, when it didn’t look as though she would win her case, her grandfather said something that I didn’t pick up on the first time I saw the movie.  He said:

always-quiet

This really resonated with me.  I thought of this series that I’m writing about encouragement from the Lord.  I thought about the times in my life when things were “really hard” and I felt alone.  I knew that God was in control and I knew that He had a plan but He seemed quiet.  Years ago, shortly after I graduated from college, I went through a difficult circumstance.  A friend of my dad’s knew I was struggling and he reminded me that I needed to pray and trust.  He encouraged me to memorize Philippians 4:6-7.  I did.  Recently I read a paraphrase of these verses.  I can’t remember where I got it from but this is what it said:

if we don’t worry and truly give it all to Christ, He will guard our hearts and minds and we are left with PEACE!  

While He guards our hearts and minds,  sometimes He is quiet.  Or at least it often feels like He is quiet.  That’s when I need to be still…when I need to listen…when I need to trust.  And then I am left with peace!   Next time I am in a difficult situation, and I will be because the road of life that we walk is not easy, I have to remember that He is with me and that He may be quiet.

Until tomorrow…

Joy to You!

 

6 thoughts on “Always Quiet ~ A 31 Day Post (day 19)

  1. One of the toughest things for me to do, is to be QUIET so I can hear the wonderful voice of God speak to me. Thank you for this thoughtful post.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

