He Gives and Takes Away ~ A 31Day Post (day 14)

31encouragment

One of my favorite songs (ever) is Blessed Be Your Name by Matt Redman.   I wrote about it HERE back in my very first 31 Day Writing Challenge.  Interestingly enough, that post spoke of the major change that our family faced when we went to seminary.  It seems I write about that a lot! {smile}  I guess when something impacts your life as much as going into ministry impacted mine, it comes up now and again.

Anyway, the first time I heard this song was in church on a Sunday morning. A friend, who has one of the most beautiful voices that I have ever heard, was the soloist that day.  I love anything she sings but this one immediately struck me as being a hard truth that I needed to grasp.  That was in 2004.  I had no idea that a year later, we would be uprooting our family and moving 7-1/2 hours away from everything familiar.

The lyrics list times in which the Lord’s name should be blessed.  I’ve listed a few below:

Blessed Be Your Name…     

  • In the land that is plentiful
  • Where Your streams of abundance flow
  • When I’m found in the desert place
  • Though I walk through the wilderness
  • When the sun’s shining down on me
  • When the world’s ‘all as it should be
  • On the road marked with suffering
  • Though there’s pain in the offering

The chorus goes like this:

Every blessing You pour out I’ll turn back to praise…When the darkness closes in, Lord, Still I will say…Blessed be the name of the Lord…Blessed be Your name

And then, the part of the song that can sometimes be hard to swallow comes

blessed-be-your-name

We don’t mind the giving part.  I don’t know about you but I am always grateful, thankful, and willing to receive a blessing…a gift from the Lord.

It’s the take away that’s hard.

If only I were like Job.  Remember him?  He lost everything and yet, he never cursed the name of the Lord.  Even when his friends and his, “ahem” wife told him to curse God.  His response to them is found in Job 1:21, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.”

If Job can praise the Lord in times of plenty and want, then I know that I should be able to as well.  It’s just hard.  It goes back to me having my whole life planned and then the plans changing.

In the past year of writing down encouraging quotes, verses, etc., I ran across this one that made me run the gamut of emotions.

Sometimes God’s blessings are not in what He gives, but in what He takes away.  He knows best.  Trust Him.  ~ Anonymous

I know He gives good gifts.  And I don’t necessarily mean the in a box with a bow kind.  A cool breeze and a sweet text from a friend are just as valuable as a new pair of earrings.  I also know that He takes away.  I’ve experienced it time and time again.  Even when my dad passed away 17 years ago, I knew that ultimately the Lord needed to be praised. 

I expect that I will see this over and over again in my life.  I need to remember that His plan is perfect and in the giving by Him…and the taking away by Him…”He knows best.”

And yes, I need to trust Him.  Back on day 5, I quoted my friend’s aunt.  I’ll share it again because it’s so true and it applies:

if we knew the (His) plan, we’d mess it up.

I’m trusting Him in all things.  Or at least that’s my goal!

Until tomorrow…

Joy to You!


 

 

 

 

One thought on “He Gives and Takes Away ~ A 31Day Post (day 14)

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

