He Meets Me ~ A 31 Day Post (day 13)

31encouragmentI am doing a 150 day challenge to write and pray the Psalms.  Because I am a little behind, yesterday landed me in Psalm 59.  This Psalm is believed to have been written by David when Saul’s army had been sent to kill him.  I had planned on sharing something else today but I just couldn’t get Psalm 59 off my mind.

David is pleading with God concerning the army against him.  He says things like:

  • Deliver me from my enemies…
  • protect me from those who rise up against me…
  • save me…they lie in wait for my life…

Then, in last part of verse 4 & verse 5 he says. “Awake, come to meet me, and see!  You, Lord God of hosts, are God of Israel.”

I couldn’t get past the word MEET.  What does it mean?  And I was struck by it seeming that David was really commanding God to meet him.  The definition of MEET is:

to come into the presence or company of (someone) by chance or arrangement

David goes on to say that God is his “strength” and “fortress”.  And he says that he will watch for the Lord.

Verse 10 is what really got me.

psalm-5910a

David expected God to MEET him.

Why?

Because of God’s steadfast love for him.

David knew that, even though he had sinned against God – and others – God still loved him.  God still protected him.  God would remain faithful to him.

And as David typically does, he then praised God in verses 16 – 17

But I will sing of your strength; I will sing aloud of your steadfast love in the morning. For you have been to me a fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress. 

O my Strength, I will sing praises to you, for you, O God, are my fortress, the God who shows me steadfast love.

So then I wondered? How often do I expect to MEET God?

I’d have to say that often I sit down for my quiet time as a way to check it off my list of things to do that day.  I pray but I often rush through so that I can get on to other things.  I am guilty of not sitting quietly to hear what He has to say to me.  I talk, but I don’t often really listen.  I don’t think of my time with the Lord as MEETING Him.

There are other times and places that we can MEET Him.  How about in a mountain stream?  Or on the beach? Or in a grove of trees on the NC shore?  Or in the sky above a KY farm?

collage

I am convinced that I need to consider MEETING the Lord every time I open His word.  And I need to consider it every time I am out and about in His world.

(Side note: people are also a fantastic way to MEET the Lord.  You never know who He is putting in your path to bless and encourage you!)

This may not seem like a typical “encouragement” post.  But I say that anytime we MEET the Lord, learning and being encouraged by Him, we are encouraged.  I hope that you have been today.

Until tomorrow…

Joy to You!


 

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

