A “Wall” of Remembrance ~ A 31 Day Post (day 11)

31encouragment

Have you seen the movie War Room?  If not, I highly recommend it.  If you have, then you know that that premise of the movie is building a life of prayer.  I’ve watched the movie multiple times.  The message of it still grips me every time I watch it.  It never gets old.  My favorite scene is when Elizabeth is visiting with Clara and notices her “Wall of Remembrance”.  The dialogue goes something like this:

  • Elizabeth – “This is fascinating Ms. Clara.”
  • Clara – “That’s my Wall of Remembrance.  And when things aren’t going so well, I look back on it.  And I’m reminded that God is still in control.  It encourages me.”
  • Elizabeth – “I sure could use some of that.”

There have been times in my life, and I am sure you can relate, that I could “use some of that.”  That’s what this 31 Day series is all about.  Encouragement.  Knowing that God is in control.  I’ve always been fascinated when I read in the Bible where God tells someone to set up stones as a means of remembering an event, a covenant, etc.

I’ve done memory jars  a few times with my kids so that we can remember events of the year.  But at the beginning of 2016,  I wanted something different.  I wanted to remind my family, and myself, that we should always be thankful.  I wanted our own “wall of remembrance.”

So here is what I came up with… my way of remembering what I need to be thankful for.

thanks

Our little “wall” lists people, places, and events that mean something to us.  They are the things in our life that have somehow shaped us…and we are thankful.  It hangs on the refrigerator so that we see it every day – multiple times.  We’ve all added to it.  There are even a few duplicates because more than one of us felt led to add that person, or family, to the page.    I love what Psalm 92:1-2  says,

It is good to give thanks to the LORD, to sing praises to your name, O Most High; to declare your steadfast love in the morning, and your faithfulness by night,..

That translates to all day!  And all night!  So, all the time.  We are to give thanks in EVERYTHING.  The good and the bad.  There are all kinds of challenges, for lack of a better word, to record things that we are thankful for.   It’s good stuff.  If you’ve never taken the time to write down what you are thankful for…the things that bring you joy, it’s a wonderful way to change your outlook on life ~ or maybe just your current circumstance.    Why not make your own “wall”?

Until tomorrow…

Joy to You!


 

 

2 thoughts on “A “Wall” of Remembrance ~ A 31 Day Post (day 11)

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

