My Favorite Verse ~ A 31 Day Post (day 6)

romans1513

I don’t remember the first time this verse hit home with me.  I know we were somewhere in our Seminary journey.  Maybe someone sent it to me.  Maybe I heard it in a sermon.  Maybe it was that Sunday morning when I heard a sweet friend quote it from memory.

That may have been it, but I’m just not sure.

What I do know is that I realized that that was the verse I wanted to memorize.  The one I wanted to cling to.  The one I wanted to pray for myself and others.  The one I wanted to could share as a means of encouragement with others.

Over the past few years I have had opportunity to do just that.  I’ve had family and friends dealing with disappointment, loss, sickness, and death. And I’ve been able to pray this verse for them.

If you’ve never made it a practice of praying God’s Word, I can’t recommend it enough.  Scripture has the power to encourage when we read it.  And when we pray it…well, it encourages us and we are praying for.

Today, in this short post, I needed to share this verse for myself as much as for others.   This is a difficult time of year for me.  The end of September marks 17 years ago that my dad passed away.  And then his birthday was this week.  The end of September also marks birthdays of a few important people in my life that have also gone on to be with the Lord.  So I’ve REALLY needed to remember that my God is a God of HOPE.  That He has the power to fill me with JOY and PEACE as I believe in Him.

A simple verse with powerful words.

I pray that you are encouraged.

Until tomorrow….

Joy to You!


31encouragment

 

 

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

