Surrounded ~ A 31 Day Post (day 4)

31encouragment

It’s day 4 of this 31 Day Challenge.  When I decided to accept the challenge again this year, I had my topic and I was ready to write.  At 10:30 PM on September 30th, the Lord slightly changed my focus.  Sharing lessons learned was still to be the focus but I felt the Lord telling me that I needed to share from all that I have learned as we’ve traveled this road called “full time ministry.”  Someday, I may write a post about the last year specifically.  And then again, I may not.  I look to the Lord to guide my words in this this little corner of the internet.

Yesterday I shared a little of how we entered into ministry full time.  My hubby attended Southern Seminary in Louisville, KY.  I had lived my whole life in the Upstate of SC – near family.  Moving was hard but we knew that it was what God wanted us to do.  I remember the first time we drove to KY.  It snowed!  Really big flakes!  The entire time we were visiting the Seminary.  When we pulled onto campus, I knew that we were home.  God is really just cool that way to give confirmation when we need it most.

It took us about a year to get to Louisville.  We had to sell our house, you know the one with white walls and no pictures hung?  The Lord was gracious in that process.  As we moved and began life in this new BIG city, we were excited and scared but we never questioned why we were there.

Fast forward a year into living in KY.  My hubby was hired part time as a children’s pastor at a wonderful church.  The sanctuary was like a retreat center with a gorgeous view of a lake.  Every Sunday for 5 years we worshiped while having this beautiful view of God’s creation.  Something wonderful happened while we were there.  The people in that church became our “family.”  When you are 7-1/2 hours from blood kin, you need “family” where you are.  God richly provided that for us.  To this day, they remain special and dear to our hearts.  We left that church for my hubby to take a full time position back in our home state.  We served there for 5 wonderful years.  And we gained new “family.”

Back in August, I picked up A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet by Sophie Hudson.  It’s just a fabulous book to read.  Sophie shares stories from her life while intertwining the truth of the gospel in the pages of every chapter.  As I was reading, something she said hit me hard….

salty-sweet-quote

These few sentences described exactly how I felt about our Louisville “family” and our “family” in our SC church.  It described how I felt about being in ministry.  The Lord graciously provided the friends we needed to love and support us.  He landed us in places that we were able to love and be loved.   What a blessing!!!

Now we are in a new place and I have to say, God has already begun the process all over again.  He has already surrounded us with people that I know will be “family.”  Surrounded us with people that will cover us in prayer and allow us to do the same for them.

Isn’t it wonderful being a part of the body of Christ? In 1 Corinthians 12 Paul talks about the body of Christ.  He shares that we are “one body with many members.”  We all have gifts and talents that compliment each other.  The Lord surrounds us with the other members of the “body” that we need.

I pray that you are surrounded by exactly who you need for encouragement!

Until tomorrow…

Joy to You!


Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

