God Plans for Us ~ A 31 Day Post (day 3)

31encouragment

The Greek philosopher Heraclitus is credited for saying “change is the only constant in life.”  I think I agree with him.  I’m a creature of habit.  I like things to be familiar and comfortable.  When my husband shared with me that he felt the Lord calling him into full time ministry, my world was rocked.  There were many things about our life then that were exactly the way I wanted them to be.  We had our lives figured out.  And our plan was good.  AND, I had read and memorized Jeremiah 29:11.  It’s probably familiar to you:

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

I was VERY sure that we were living God’s plans for us.  We had a 5 year old son and a brand new baby girl.  AND I had just quit working full time to be home with my kids.  AND we had just moved into a new house…I mean the walls were still white.  AND no pictures had been hung!!  How could the plans be for us to go somewhere else?

Our hope and our future were good.  At least they were in my mind.  My hubby asked me to pray about going to seminary.  He asked me to pray about our family being in ministry full time.  About six weeks went by….and then I knew.  The Lord had confirmed to me that YES, we were to go to a new place.  My husband was to go to seminary and I would likely have to go back to work.

I wish that I had written down the verses and encouragement that God sent my way all those years ago.  I remember having “aha” moments as I dug into His word.  One of those moments was as I read all of Jeremiah 29 sometime early in our seminary journey.  Do you know what verses 12 and 13 say?

Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.

Isn’t that beautiful?  The context of the passage is God speaking, through the prophet Jeremiah, to the Isrealites who were in exile in Babylon.  He tells them that He has plans for them.  He tells them that He does not intend for them to be away from their home forever.

Let me clarify that I did not read this passage and assume that God had the same plans for our family.  Yes, we were 7-1/2 hours from grandparents but we were not in exile.  We actually fell in love with our new home city and with the people that God placed in our lives.  What I did take from this passage is that He has plans for me too!  AND that when I call out to Him He hears me.  AND when I am earnestly – with all my heart – seeking Him and His will for my life, I find Him.

As we continue through our years of ministry, I see these verses as a reality.  Not only does He hear us but He is with us.  He tells us that more than 100 times in His Word.  What a comfort?

As I am writing this post, I am reminded and encouraged anew of just how perfect His plans (His will and way) are for me.  I pray that you have been reminded of the same.

Until tomorrow!

Joy to You!


 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “God Plans for Us ~ A 31 Day Post (day 3)

  1. What a hard, hard journey for you to walk with littlies in tow. I sometimes wonder if God purposely takes us the hard path to grow our trust in Him, to show us just how little we can manage in our own strength and how amazing He is. I absolutely love those verses…I’ve done my fair share of crying out…He’s always faithful. Thank you for this timely reminder.

    Like

    1. I’ve often asked myself the same thing about the path we are on being to grow us and I say, yes. It’s sanctification and that’s what our walk with Christ is all about, right? Knowing Him better and being more like Him. He is faithful and I am thankful. Thanks for stopping by Anna. Always great to be in touch with you!

      Like

  2. I was recently convicted to go beyone Jeremiah 29:11 as well to the SEEKING part. “Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.” God doesn’t want us to sit idly and wait for Him to do a good work. He wasn’t our eyes on Him, seeking to know Him better. And He does not disappoint! I have learned more and seen God most clearlly in my hard places. When I am calling out to Him! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

