Who God Is ~ A 31 Day Post (day 2)

31encouragment

We began our journey of determining what the Lord had next for us.  It’s a process, but God in His great mercy confirmed day after day that He was with us and that He would guide and direct us.

Often that confirmation came through God’s Word.  No surprise there, right?  I was in the middle of working my way through a “Names of God” Bible study through Love God Greatly.  If you have never visited their site, I highly recommend it for a wonderful Bible study plan.  This study was a beautiful reminder of just who God really is.

He is our:

names-of-god

All throughout Scripture the Lord confirms exactly who He is for us.  When studying God as “Jehovah Jireh” I was reminded of Abraham.  He walked up a mountain, following instructions from God to offer Isaac as a burnt offering.  Abraham took two of his young men with him on the journey.  As he left, with Isaac, to go to the place God had told him to go, he said to the young men,

Stay here with the donkey; I and the boy will go over there and worship and come again to you. ~ Genesis 22:5

It always amazed me that Abraham told his men that he and Isaac would come back to them.  He trusted the Lord to provide.  He didn’t know how but he knew that God would provide so he walked forward in obedience.  God takes us through this path of obedience as our Shepherd and ultimately gives us peace.  It’s a beautiful picture of who He is.

In difficult times, the Lord asks us to trust Him.  He asks us to obey Him.  These things are not easy.  Matter of fact, in our humanity, they are down-right hard.

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you.  Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life. ~ Psalm 143:8

This verse sums up my desire for life and for the ministry that God has for me.  I have no idea where you are in your life, or where you are in your walk with the Lord.  What I do know is that He is faithful.  All He asks for us to “entrust” our lives to Him.

Thanks for joining me today for part of my Write 31 Day series.  I hope you’ll visit often during October.

Joy to You!


 

 

3 thoughts on “Who God Is ~ A 31 Day Post (day 2)

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

