Listen: A Five Minute Friday Post

It’s been a long time since I have completed a post.  I’ve wanted to write, but the truth is that life has just been crazy busy.   There is a wonderful link up called “Five-Minute-Friday”.  The goal is to write about one word for five minutes.  It’s hosted by Kate Motaung.  I’ve participated a few times in the past and it’s always fun.  Today’s word is perfect for me so I decided that a five minute post is a good way to get back at it.  So….for the next 5 minutes, I will be writing on the Five-Minute-Friday word of the week:

(Go)

What does it mean to really listen?

For me, it means I have to be really still.  God’s Word tells us to “be still and know that He is God..”  I try, I really do.  But often I get caught up in the “noise” of the world.  The photo above reminded me of myself.  There is a lot going on in the photo.  Leaves, grass, dirt, limbs, shadows, light, darkness…oh, and tress!

There are also probably birds in the tress. Frogs, crickets………… you get the idea.  I remember walking through this grove of trees and just listening to the sounds of nature.

My life is busy.  Our family is in a new city.  That means a new church, new neighbors, new friends, new…well, everything.  It’s overwhelming.  Just last night I woke up feeling unsettled.  I know that God is in control, but I get caught up in it all and often forget to just LISTEN to Him.

Through a series of events today, I realized that I don’t always LISTEN so well.  Not to my kids, not to my husband.  Or my friends and extended family.  But I especially don’t always LISTEN so well to my Heavenly Father.

He desires to speak to us through His word.  Through the wisdom of others.  And even through the peace that He gives us deep in our hearts.  He wants us to know and understand that He speaks through the peace He gives but can also be speaking to us through a lack of peace.  In order to know that difference we have to LISTEN.

In our prayer times, we aren’t supposed to do all the talking.  Is that a surprise to you?  It was to me the first time someone said it to me!  Now, years later, I understand.  Yes, we are to talk to Him.  But we are also supposed to LISTEN to Him when we pray.

This is hard but it’s worth it!

(stop)

This “Five-Minute-Friday” word prompt could not have come at a better time in my life.  I needed the reminder that I need to sit and just LISTEN to Him.

Please hop over to katemotaung.com to see what others have to say about our word for the week: LISTEN

Happy Friday & Joy To You!


 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Listen: A Five Minute Friday Post

  1. Hi Robin
    Lovely post. Yes, ‘listen’ is a timely reminder to take time to really hear what God is saying. Thanks for your post – and praying you settle down quickly in your new home in this different season of your life.
    Blessings
    Mandy (from FMF)

    Like

  2. So lovely to read a post from you again, Robin. Oh yes, how I can empathize with your struggle…I love your pic because actually that’s my space to listen to my Heavenly Father: running in the forest is my most special prayer time because I listen the best there: no other distractions.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

