Through It All – It Is Well

Earlier this week, I attended the funeral of a precious lady in our church.  For 42 years, she was a faithful member of our church serving where she was needed; playing the piano for most of those years.  Kind, and very appropriate, words were spoken.  Scripture was read and songs were sung.

It is well by Bethel Music was one of the songs that was sang.  It was appropriate.  This sweet lady kept her eyes on the Lord.  Even in the hard times.

Life is hard.  We go through all sorts of things that can cause our faith to weaken.  For me, I try really hard to give it all over to Him.  But, like many, I find myself taking it back.  Sometimes, I take the whole burden back.  And sometimes I take just a nugget of it.  Do I not trust Him with it?  I mean, after all He is the creator of all things.  He’s the one that set the earth in motion.  He’s the one that knit me together in my mother’s womb.  Who am I to think that He can’t handle the circumstances in life that weigh me down?

I can’t get this song out of my head.  I keep thinking of the trials that I have come through asking myself if I really relied on Him the way I needed to.  I hope that I did, but in reality I know that I often wavered.  I took my eyes off of Him and when I did things like fear, anger, and doubt consumed me.

I want to keep my eyes on Him.  I want to be known as someone who has – and shows – the joy of the Lord.  I want to be able to say that “through it all, it is well.”

I’d love for you to take a few moments and listen to this beautiful song.  Let it sink in. Take time to consider your response to whatever life is throwing your way.

My prayer is that you can say, “Through it all, it is well.”

Joy to You!

signature6

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

