FIRST – A five-minute-friday post

This little musing is linked up over at katemotaung.com with many other bloggers who participate in this fun writing exercise called “Five-Minute-Friday”.

For the next 5 minutes, I will be writing on the first Five-Minute-Friday word of 2016.  That word is:

FIRST

(GO)

When I discovered that the word for this #fiveminutefriday was FIRST, two things immediately came to my mind.  The “first” one was my son.  My FIRST born.  He will be 17 this weekend.  Wow!  Hard to believe that I’ve been a mom for 17 years.  I was thinking of all the things that come with having a child.  There are tons of “first” moments that can never be repeated.  At least not with that particular child.  My favorite “first” for my little…..okay, not so little anymore guy was his very first lollipop.

He was just a barely 2 months old.  My dad, who had cancer at the time, had been in the hospital since my son was born.  Dad was home and we went to visit.  It was a tradition in my dad’s family that the grandfather introduced the little one to a lollipop.  So, my dad did.  As you can see in the photo below, that “first” taste of sweetness brought a precious smile and an even more precious moment.

first lollipop

That memory, thinking of all the “first” things that happen in a child’s life, immediately took me to a passage that I read this week as I have begun a reading plan to go through the Bible in a year.  Matthew 6:25-35 is a beautiful passage about being anxious.

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 27 And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? 28 And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, 29 yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30 But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31 Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. 34 “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

A new baby…just like a new year can come with new experiences…things that we will worry and lose sleep over.  But the Lord tells us not to be anxious.  We read that He cares enough to clothe the grass and if He cares that much for a blade of grass, won’t He also take care of us.  The beginning of verse 33 gives us a very important “first”.

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness,…

(STOP)

I ran out of time {smile} but do feel the need to finish.  Seeking the Lord FIRST in all we do, is the key to living our lives as He created us to.  My prayer this year is that as I face the good and the bad that I will seek Him and His ways.

Joy to You!

signature6

2 thoughts on “FIRST – A five-minute-friday post

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

