Looking Back – Looking Ahead

happynewyear

I am having a hard time wrapping my mind around the fact that another year has come and gone.  In one sense, it seemed to move along…not too fast – not too slow.  On the other hand I have to ask “where did it go?”

For the past few years, I have had a “word” of the year.  In 2015, my word was QUIET.   I decided that I need to rest, to slow down, to focus on the Lord and what His plan was for me.  That led me to do just that.  I didn’t even write very many blog posts.  I can honestly look back and say that I accomplished my goal of finding a way to truly be quiet.

As I look ahead to 2016, I’ve thought about again selecting a “word” of the year but I just can’t settle on one.  Instead, as I unpacked my Christmas gifts, I realized that instead of a “word” for the year, I am going to claim a verse.  My sister and her hubby gave me this beautiful print of one of my favorite verses.  It’s the verse I am claiming.

romans1212

In claiming this verse, I have three words that will be key for me this year:

JOYFUL – PATIENT -FAITHFUL

These three words mean that I will strive to be:

Full of joy; glad; delighted

Persevering; constant in pursuit or exertion; calmly diligent

Steady; loyal; constant

In 2016, I have books I want to read, projects I want to do, weight I want to lose {smile}, trips I want to take, and goals I want to meet.   When I review this list, I realize that none of it matters if I am not who God designed me to be.  I am thankful that He is in control.  He knows what His plan is for me.  He knows what 2016 looks like in light of eternity.

So in 2016, I desire to be JOYFUL – in my hope of the Lord,  PATIENT – in the good and the not so easy, FAITHFUL – in prayer for the requests that I am privileged to take to the Lord.

Happy New Year.  May 2016 be a year full of God’s grace and mercy for you and your family.

I’d love to hear if you have selected a “word” or maybe a verse for the year.

Joy to You!

signature6

 

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

