In The Light

I am NOT a morning person.  Never have been and I seriously doubt that I ever will be.  I’m so convinced of this that my morning mantra is that if God wanted me to see the sunrise; He would certainly let it come up later.  {smile}

That being said, I also love my son very much.  He is growing up into a godly young man, taking on responsibilities like learning to drive and getting a job.  This is where me NOT being a morning person comes in.  My grown-up boy is now a lifeguard at our local YMCA.  When he accepted the job, one of the things we knew up front was that one, or two, mornings a week he would work the 5 to 9 AM shift.  Yes, I said 5 AM.  For those of you who don’t get up that early, the sun is definitely not up at that time.

Anyway, he has to be at the Y by 4:50.  And I am his primary transportation to work right now.

My car was in the shop last week so at 4:45 AM we hopped in my husband’s truck to head to the Y.  We drove there and after bidding my boy goodbye, I headed back home.  As I was driving, I took note that there really isn’t anyone out at this time of the morning.  And then, I saw blue lights behind me.  The speed limit right through town is 25 mph and I knew for a fact that I was not speeding.  I couldn’t imagine why I was being pulled over.

I stopped and greeted the officer as he came to the window.  Turns out I knew him as he often visits our church.  I asked him if there was a problem and he asked me if I realized that I was driving with no headlights.  I was literally dumbfounded.  He was, of course, right.  My headlights were not on.

I explained that I don’t often drive my husband’s truck and that the lights are automatic in my car so I never thought to check them.  He gave me a verbal warning and told me to have a nice day.  Grace given in the wee hours of the morning.  So thankful for that!!

I turned on my headlights and drove home.  As I crawled back in bed to sleep for another hour or so, I kept asking myself how I could’ve driven with no headlights.  Then I realized – the short distance between our house and the Y is lined with bright streetlights.  Even in our neighborhood, there isn’t a place on the route that there is real darkness.  I was brought to tears thinking of the protection that the Lord had afforded us that morning.  After all, it is dangerous to drive without headlights in the dark hours of the night/morning.

Then it hit me that I often live my life the very same way.  I roll along on the light devotions, a good sermon, verses posted on Facebook or Pinterest, or even just by opening the Bible and reading a Psalm a day.  I can get caught up in checking that off my list and not having any real illumination of truth.

This got me to thinking about how I read and study my Bible.  There are probably hundreds, maybe even thousands, of reading plans.  There are tons of tips on studying the Bible, ways to memorize Scripture, etc., etc.

The Bible says:

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. ~ Psalm 119:105

The unfolding of your words gives light; it imparts understanding to the simple. ~ Psalm 119:130

God’s Word is light.  It is our road map…our GPS.  We can bask in the “light” of those other things – the good sermon, the devotion book on our nightstand, the Psalm a day.  But to REALLY live in the light, we have to be in it.  We have to read and study.

There is nothing wrong with a good devotional or a Bible study course.  Just remember that they are written by someone and will have the opinion of the author.  The Scripture holds the ultimate opinion.  One we can’t go wrong with.

I’ve started writing down key verses that really speak to me as I am reading.  That’s how I learn, by writing things down.  If I am using a devotional, I write down key comments from the author of the devotion.   Because of the influence of my friend Candace I often pray the scripture that I am focusing on.  You can read more about that over at His Mercy Is New under “praying the scriptures” section on her site.

What I’m trying to say in my ramblings is be in His Word…in His Light.  Don’t roll down the road of life believing that you are where you need to be.  God wants to constantly, consistently be seeking after Him.

My prayer is that I am more and more intentional about studying His word.

Until next time…Joy to You!

signature6

8 thoughts on “In The Light

  1. What a great devotion, I love how you tied it back to our own lives and how we can just go along without even realizing the danger we are in. God loves us and wants to protect us and in so many ways he does, but sometimes we lose focus and just roll along and don’t realize how lost we are. I was in the military for a few years so I know a thing or two about getting up before the sun comes up and now with a 2 year old i’m still getting up early. I guess it is something that may never change. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve been reflecting on this post of yours for a while now and just wanted to thank you for sharing such a powerful image through the parallel you drew to driving without headlights. This afternoon I read through Psalm 112 and came across it again (The Message): “Sunrise breaks through the darkness for good people- God’s grace and mercy and justice” and these are people, “who fear God, Who cherish and relish His commandments”. How important this is to help us not go through life “shuffling or stumbling around” as Psalm 112 puts it. I want to look forward to His Light, to be led by the Light of His Truth- His Word. Thank you for your encouragement here.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

