Right On Time

clockThis clock belonged to my grandparents.  My mom says that from a young age, I told my grandmother that I wanted the clock in my house someday.  I never remember it actually telling time. For many, many years it was stopped somewhere around 2:24.  It’s been through several moves so the hands have moved a bit since coming into my possession.

It’s rather eerie but my sweet grandmother passed away somewhere around the 2:20 – 2:30 time.  I remember her pastor being the room with her family gathered around her and he said, “what a home going you all have just given her.”

So this clock has extra special meaning to me.  It reminds me daily that God plans our days.  Psalm 37:23 says, “The steps of a man are established by the LORD, when he delights in his way;..   Proverbs 16:9 says, ” The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps.”

Years ago our church regularly sang the song On Time God by Dottie Peoples.  The chorus goes like this:

He’s an on time God,
Yes He is,
He’s an on time God,
Yes He is.
He may not come when you want Him,
But He’ll be there right on time.
He’s an on time God,
Yes He is.

Stanza 1 talks of the children of Israel trapped at the Red Sea and how at just the right moment, the waters parted so that they would be saved.  Stanza 2 tells of the feeding of the 5,000.  It tells of the little boy that was in the crowd with the exact amount of food that Jesus needed. Oh and by the way, that was 5,000 men!  There were also women and children present that day!!!

Anyway, God is like that.  Right on time.  Not a minute early.  Not a second late.  I just finished writing on my discoveries from the book of Galatians in a 31 day series.  It was challenging and even fun.  The absolute best part of the writing challenge was the community of bloggers that I became a part of.  Literally thousands of women, and a few men, wrote about a myriad of topics.  A group page was created on Facebook for those of us participating to share our blog posts and to encourage each other.

Without fail.  Let me repeat, without fail, every time I posted and began to read the others that were shared in this Facebook community, it was EXACTLY what I needed to hear that day.  Often exactly what I needed in the moment I was reading.  I was amazed.

Lately, I’ve been considering the fact that, in our lives, we go through all kinds of circumstances.  Some we choose. Some we do not.  Some things are happy and well, some just plain stink.  These are things like sickness, broken marriages, estranged children, work situations,…the list is endless.  Here’s what I know about all ocup of teaf these, if we seek the Father in the midst of the circumstance God gives us a glimpse of Himself. Those glimpses are exactly what we need when we need it.

Yesterday, I had my own glimpse of the Lord.  I sat down with a dear friend across her kitchen table sipping hot tea – in a pretty cup – and discussed life. We laughed.  We even shed a few tears.  We talked about God’s Word.  We read a few verses that I can’t seem to memorize no matter how hard I try.  {smile} We prayed for each other.  We sat on her porch and just listened to nature.  Sharing the joys and sorrows of life, in moments ordained by God, reminded me that He is an ON TIME God.

Yes He is!!

Joy to You!

signature6

One thought on “Right On Time

  1. What a wonderful keepsake and reminder of God’s Presence. It sure is eerie that it stopped at that time. Sounds like your grandmother was someone pretty special. Must have been so hard to say goodbye. What a wonderful reunion it will be in heaven one day!

    Isn’t it amazing how God can show us His Presence in these little (yet for us big!) ways.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

