A Walk Through Galatians ~ Day 28

galatians31_photoGalatians 5:22-26

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.  24 And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.  25 If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit.  26 Let us not become conceited, provoking one another, envying one another.

Today’s passage is among my favorite in God’s Word.  I remember learning verses 22-23 as a child.  Then as I got older, I remember coming to really understand the rest of this passage.

When I look at the list, I often wonder how I can possibly do all of those things.  So I find myself picking one or two to focus on.  You know try love & joy today and then patience & kindness tomorrow.  But it doesn’t work that way.  I had already been considering this post a few days back – I’m actually a few verses ahead in my personal quiet time {smile}.  Anyway, so I had been thinking about the fruit of the Spirit and then back on day 23, Karrilee, a fellow blogger also doing this 31 day challenge over at Abiding Love Abounding Grace wrote about joy.  Of course, you can’t really write about joy and not touch on the fruit of the Spirit.  She said, “I love that it is not the fruits of the Spirit… but it is the fruit of the Spirit. We cannot pick and choose from Galatians 5.”  You can read her full post on Joy HERE.

But isn’t that the truth?  We don’t have the luxury of being joyful today and full of patience tomorrow.  We are called, by God, to have it all every minute of every day.  It’s hard.  And some days are harder than others.  That’s when we give praise and thanksgiving to our Heavenly Father for His grace and mercy towards us.

Here’s the thing, when we live like the Spirit of God lives in us, this fruit becomes who we are.  We might still have a day that we lose our patience or we’re just not feeling the love but God still loves us and is patient with us.

Such a simple truth and yet, it seems so BIG!

I think I need to re-learn the jingle that lists the fruit of the Spirit.  And then I need to sing it daily.  Some days I’ll have to sing it all day long.  How about you?  How’s the fruit in your life?

Until tomorrow…Joy to You!

signature6

7 thoughts on “A Walk Through Galatians ~ Day 28

  1. Funny that you wrote on this. It’s a passage that’s been on my mind a lot. I’ve been thinking about how if I surrender more, then the fruit becomes more evident in my life. I’ve lately had moments where I’ll step back into the hallway and pray for God to give me patience and wisdom with my girls (when I’ve reached my wits end and have no patience left!). Amazingly, I’ve seen that when I do that peace descends on my household as I’m guided to speak words in grace. Too often I don’t retreat into the hallway and have my say in anger…trying to keep control over the situation, instead of giving it to God.

    Good post for reflection. Thank you.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

