A Walk Through Galatians ~ Day 27

galatians31_photoMy grandmother used to say, “now you’ve gone to meddling”.  I don’t think I fully understood that when I was young, but I do now.  I’ve also heard the same thing said of Scripture.   People say that they are okay with Scripture until it gets to the list of do’s and don’ts.  Our human nature, that is sinful, doesn’t like calling sin what it is – sin.  For me, I am glad for the reminder.  Today we look at Galatians 5:16-21:

16 But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.  17For the desires of the flesh are against the Spirit, and the desires of the Spirit are against the flesh, for these are opposed to each other, to keep you from doing the things you want to do.  18 But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law. 19 Now the works of the flesh are evident: sexual immorality, impurity, sensuality, 20 idolatry, sorcery, enmity, strife, jealousy, fits of anger, rivalries, dissensions, divisions, 21 envy, drunkenness, orgies, and things like these. I warn you, as I warned you before, that those who do such things will not inherit the kingdom of God.

What would you say if someone told you that, basically, there is a war within you?  I mean, there really is but I’m not sure how often we really think about it.  But it’s true.  Satan wants us to mess up.  He wants to control our flesh.  But the desires of the (Holy) Spirit – that lives within us – are good.  Those desires give glory to God.  Those desires lead us to “love our neighbor” as we talked about in verse 14 yesterday.

The fleshly desires want no part of loving our neighbor.  The flesh seeks to be selfish…jealous…angry…I’ll let you peruse the rest of the list in verse 19 & 20.

I can just imagine the passion that Paul is writing with.  He wants the people of Galatia to know exactly how to “inherit” the kingdom of God.  He reminds them, often, what it means to have salvation.  He loves them and wants them to spend eternity with their Heavenly Father.

I am thankful that throughout my life, I have had people in my life to guide me.  People who have loved me, guided me, and reminded me who I need to be so that I too can inherit the kingdom of God.

I am thankful that when I succumb to things like fits of anger or jealousy that I have a Heavenly Father that gently reminds me…or sometimes warns me…what it takes to inherit the kingdom of God.

Until tomorrow…Joy to You!

signature6

6 thoughts on “A Walk Through Galatians ~ Day 27

  1. Thanks for your lovely and truth-filled words.
    There certainly is a war within me. I am grateful I have a Savior who has given me many tools to fight well. One of those “tools” has been folks who shepherd me. Today I want to resist Satan’s ways and be one who points to Jesus as The Way.

    Like

  2. Galatians is such a great book of the Bible. It is so easy for the enemy to try and take over but I am so thankful that Christ walks with us.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

