A Walk Through Galatians ~ Day 23

galatians31_photoDo you ever find yourself singing through Scripture?  You know, the tune automatically begins in your head because a very talented Christian music artist has set the passage to music.  That’s what happened when I began reading today’s passage in Galatians.  We’re looking at 5:1-6 today:

1 For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.  2 Look: I, Paul, say to you that if you accept circumcision, Christ will be of no advantage to you.  3 I testify again to every man who accepts circumcision that he is obligated to keep the whole law.  4 You are severed from Christ, you who would be justified by the law; you have fallen away from grace.  5For through the Spirit, by faith, we ourselves eagerly wait for the hope of righteousness.  6 For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision counts for anything, but only faith working through love. 

The song I had in my head was “I Am Set Free” by All Sons & Daughters.  They are one of my favorite groups.  I just love all their songs.  But I digress… Here are the lyrics.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After reading them you may wonder why, other than the first line, does she think of this song?  Grant it not the whole song reflects the Scripture passage, however, for me, it does.  The song speaks of the chains of sin and shame being broken.  Verse 1 talks of the yolk of slavery.  Verse 4 talks of falling from grace.  The song speaks of being covered with grace.  The song says, “And yes Lord, we are grateful for Your grace and for Your love.”  Verse 6 reminds us that it is Christ’s love that counts for everything.

Paul keeps reminding the Galatians that it is faith that gives salvation.  Not the law.  He reminds them that under the law, there is obligation but through faith, there is freedom.  And in the freedom, righteousness comes through hope.

I may be way off base, but as I read the passage, this is what the Lord laid on my heart.  Here is a video of All Sons and Daughters singing “I Am Set Free”.  I pray that it will speak to your heart.

Until tomorrow…Joy to You!

signature6

5 thoughts on “A Walk Through Galatians ~ Day 23

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

