A Walk Through Galatians ~ Day 21

galatians31_photoI am finding myself sitting down to write my posts at 10 pm, or after, every night lately.   I homeschool my children and, well, it’s often a full day of getting stuff done.  Add dinner and evening activities, depending on the night and WHEW!  I am tired just recounting it “out loud” here in my corner of the internet.

I often, at the end the day, have felt the anguish of the day and am just plain perplexed over what did or didn’t happen…over what I said or didn’t say to my kids…etc.

This is how I see today’s passage – Galatians 4:17-20:

17 They make much of you, but for no good purpose. They want to shut you out that you may make much of them.  18 It is always good to be made much of for a good purpose, and not only when I am present with you, 19 my little children, for whom I am again in the anguish of childbirth until Christ is formed in you!  20 I wish I could be present with you now and change my tone, for I am perplexed about you.

As the wife of a pastor, I understand being protective of the people in your church.  We love them like family.  We want the best for them – health, safety, and much more.  But what we want most is for them to know the love of Christ; for them to have a personal relationship with Him.

I think that’s how Paul felt.  He cared about the people in Galatia.  He wanted to see them come to know Christ in a real and personal way.  He addressed them as “my little children” and compared not being present with them to the anguish of childbirth.  I can only imagine that his heart hurt for those who were slow to accept the gift of salvation.

In verse 18, Paul talks of “being made much of”.  I had to think on this a bit.  What did he mean?  I think its encouragement in the faith.  Encouragement in the good – the blessings – that come with a relationship in Christ.  I am drawn to wonder how much true encouragement I give to my kids, my husband, my friends……….  How often, how much do I encourage them in their walk with the Lord?  Something for me to think about.

Until tomorrow…Joy to You!

signature6

2 thoughts on “A Walk Through Galatians ~ Day 21

  1. Sounds like you have been very busy. Thank you for sharing this.

    I went and read this passage and the verses around it in my Message Bible to understand it better. In the Message version it refers to this “thinking much of” as “to be ardent in doing good” and linking this to “concern for both my person and my message”. It seems that by following the “flatter[ing]” of those who followed the law, but not grace, Paul’s “children” were causing him great pain because they were choosing to “depend on them for approval and direction” rather than letting Christ’s life become visible in them by accepting grace, the faith of the “free” rather than the “slave”.

    So, I think he is encouraging us to accept grace above the love and approval of others. So, I’d say, be encouraged that God sees your struggles and imperfections as a parent and wants you to accept His abounding grace. Hugs to you today!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

