A Walk Through Galatians – Day 12

galatians31_photoSometimes when I read Scripture, I have to back up and look at the passage just before it.  That is what we need to do today.  Let’s look at Galatians 3:5 again and then move into verses 6-9: 

5 Does he who supplies the Spirit to you and works miracles among you do so by works of the law, or by hearing with faith  — 6 just as Abraham “believed God, and it was counted to him as righteousness”?  7 Know then that it is those of faith who are the sons of Abraham. 8 And the Scripture, foreseeing that God would justify the Gentiles by faith, preached the gospel beforehand to Abraham, saying, “In you shall all the nations be blessed.”  9 So then, those who are of faith are blessed along with Abraham, the man of faith.

When my daughter and I read this passage together, I asked her what her thoughts on it were.  She said, “Well, Abraham is known for his faith!” Isn’t that the truth?  Throughout the Old and New Testament, Abraham is mentioned.  We hear of his obedience to God.  We hear of his faith in what God was doing.  One of my favorite verses in the account of Abraham is Genesis 22:5.  This is where we read of God asking Abraham to sacrifice his only – and long awaited – son, Isaac.  The entire account is a testimony to who Abraham was but this one verse, in my opinion, sums up his faith.

Then Abraham said to his young men, “Stay here with the donkey; I and the boy will go over there and worship and come again to you.”

Abraham had the faith that God would provide the lamb for the sacrifice. We see that a little further down in Genesis 22:8.   I remember when it hit me that, in verse 5, Abraham said “the boy and I”.  It was an epiphany moment for me.  And throughout Scripture, that faith has been “counted to him as righteousness”.  It’s what he’s known for.  It’s his legacy.

I could write and write about legacy.  Maybe I will someday.  For now, I’ll close asking the Lord to help me to leave a legacy of faith.

Until tomorrow…..Joy to You!

signature6

2 thoughts on “A Walk Through Galatians – Day 12

  1. I’d love to hear more about your epiphany with this scripture. Readers’ experiences with the text is what I find so fascinating and helpful. Happy Day 13, fellow 31 dayer!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

