A Walk Through Galatians – Day 11

galatians31_photoIn Galatians 3:1-5, we are still talking about faith vs. works.  Paul is reminding the Galatians that NOTHING they can do can give them salvation.  The Spirit comes to us because of our faith in hearing the gospel.

1 O foolish Galatians! Who has bewitched you? It was before your eyes that Jesus Christ was publicly portrayed as crucified.  2 Let me ask you only this: Did you receive the Spirit by works of the law or by hearing with faith?  3 Are you so foolish? Having begun by the Spirit, are you now being perfected by the flesh?  4 Did you suffer so many things in vain–if indeed it was in vain?  5 Does he who supplies the Spirit to you and works miracles among you do so by works of the law, or by hearing with faith—

Ever noticed how some things are repeated are in Scripture?  It’s true.  Just read the book of John.  Jesus tells His disciples the same thing over and over again.  This wasn’t new to the gospel books — it goes all the way back to the wandering for 40 years in the desert.  The children of Israel would waiver in their trust in God…then tough times would come… and they would renew their faith…and then it would start over.   The Galatians were the same way.  They had lived so long seeing “things” being done for the sake of religion that it was hard to grasp the concept of faith being enough.

And then there is me!  I wax and wane in the strength of my faith.  Wow, that is hard to admit.

Why?  Because I am not strong.   And admitting a weakness makes me feel even less strong. (Iknow that’s not really correct grammar but it really describes how I feel).

Thankfully my strength has nothing to do with who God is or what He freely offers me. Thankfully, the Holy Spirit lives within me because I understood faith in Christ many years ago.  Thankfully He doesn’t leave me or forsake me — even when I am not strong.

How about you?  How does your faith stand?  Are you like me and it sometimes waivers?  This morning in worship, we sang “Oceans” by Hillsong United.  The words of this song remind me of exactly what I am trying to convey.  Take a listen and spend a few minutes worshiping the One that never waivers.

Until tomorrow… Joy to You!

signature6

PS:  I had originally planned to go in a completely different direction with this post.  Then I read a post by another blogger in this 31 day write series.  It inspired me.  Check out this beautifully honest post over at Hope Anchors.

8 thoughts on “A Walk Through Galatians – Day 11

  1. Oh no, you are DEFINITELY not alone in this. Funnily, I was thinking about this very thing today because of what I plan to write about tomorrow and because of today’s sermon on Ephesians 2 and God’s desire to break the strongholds in our life that hold us back from His powerfully freeing love. I’m thankful for His patient love that keeps taking us one step further into greater freedom. Thank you for your words today.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

