A Walk Through Galatians ~ Day 10

galatians31_photo

Today’s passage in Galatians contains what may be one of the most well-known verses of the Bible.  The passage is Galatians 2:17-21:

17 But if, in our endeavor to be justified in Christ, we too were found to be sinners, is Christ then a servant of sin? Certainly not!  18 For if I rebuild what I tore down, I prove myself to be a transgressor.  19 For through the law I died to the law, so that I might live to God.  20 I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.  21 I do not nullify the grace of God, for if righteousness were through the law, then Christ died for no purpose.

Verse 20 is what I’d like to focus on:

20 I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

Being “crucified with Christ” doesn’t mean that we have to literally be put on the cross.  But it does mean that we are to DIE to the sin in our lives.  We live with the Holy Spirit indwelling us.  That’s big and comforting at the same time.

Have you ever considered the weight of Christ giving Himself up for us?  I remember, a few years back, sitting in my Sunday school class when our teacher asked us to consider the weight of the sin that went to the cross with Christ.  It literally brought me to tears.   “Wow” was all I could think or say.

It continues to be a heavy thought for me.  I am unworthy because as hard as I try, I still sin.  Praise the Lord that He still forgives.  When going through this passage with my daughter she commented that it is very cool that we cannot nullify God’s grace.  I agree with her.

I am thankful for His sacrifice, for His love, and for His giving Himself up.

Until tomorrow…Joy to You!

signature6

One thought on “A Walk Through Galatians ~ Day 10

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

