A Walk Through Galatians ~ Day 5

galatians31_photoHave you ever thought that events and circumstances in your life could cause others to glorify God?

Seems like quite a responsibility, don’t you think?  How silly – and impossible – would that be to live trying to orchestrate things so that others would praise Him.

I am sure that when Paul was persecuting Christians that he didn’t have a secret motive of getting people to give the glory to God.   Our passage today is Galatians 1: 18-24:

18 Then after three years I went up to Jerusalem to visit Cephas and remained with him fifteen days.  19 But I saw none of the other apostles except James the Lord’s brother.  20 (In what I am writing to you, before God, I do not lie!)  21 Then I went into the regions of Syria and Cilicia.  22 And I was still unknown in person to the churches of Judea that are in Christ.  23 They only were hearing it said, “He who used to persecute us is now preaching the faith he once tried to destroy.”  24 And they glorified God because of me.

Paul is telling about his travels and who is he meeting with.  I find it interesting that he makes a point of saying, “…I do not lie!”  Then again, with his past actions not being kind towards Christians, he probably feels that he needs to let them know that he is being truthful.

Verses 22 – 24 are what stood out to me in this passage.  Paul knows that people were still being told of the persecution that he practiced.  He also knew that they were also being told that he was changed.  It must have made him feel good to know that God was receiving glory for the change in his life.

In our own personal, modern day, lives our circumstances can lead others to glorify God.  I’ve watched friends and loved ones go through cancer, losing everything to a fire, job loss, even death of someone they loved.  In observing these tragedies, I have given God glory for the testimony of faith that my friends and family showed.

It’s pretty powerful.

But living ordinary lives, day by day, as commanded throughout the New Testament can be too.

My prayer is that my ordinary, often boring, life will cause me to glorify God.  AND that others will be influenced in some small way to do the same.

Until tomorrow……Joy to You!

signature6

3 thoughts on “A Walk Through Galatians ~ Day 5

  1. “My prayer is that my ordinary, often boring, life will cause me to glorify God. AND that others will be influenced in some small way to do the same.” Yes and Amen! Use any part of my life to lead others to you, oh Lord.

    Like

  2. I don’t think our lives are ever truly boring, even though it seems that way. God is doing exciting things in you and through you, and He is using that everyday life to do big things in those around you! 🙂

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

