A Walk Through Galatians ~ Day 4

galatians31_photo

Set apart……..before I was born…..

It’s a concept that is often hard to comprehend.  Or at least it is for me sometimes.    Think about it – God knew before I was born that I would be exactly who I am.  He knew that I would be selfish and prideful.  He knew that I would be jealous and that I would get angry.  He knew that He would still choose me!

Why?  Because He desires for all to have everlasting life.

Today we are reading Galatians 1:11-17.

11 For I would have you know, brothers, that the gospel that was preached by me is not man’s gospel.  12 For I did not receive it from any man, nor was I taught it, but I received it through a revelation of Jesus Christ.  13 For you have heard of my former life in Judaism, how I persecuted the church of God violently and tried to destroy it.  14 And I was advancing in Judaism beyond many of my own age among my people, so extremely zealous was I for the traditions of my fathers.  15 But when he who had set me apart before I was born, and who called me by his grace, 16 was pleased to reveal his Son to me, in order that I might preach him among the Gentiles, I did not immediately consult with anyone;  17 nor did I go up to Jerusalem to those who were apostles before me, but I went away into Arabia, and returned again to Damascus. 

Paul wants us to know several things:  first – the gospel he preaches is not from man.  AND that it was a gift.  He received it “through a revelation of Jesus Christ.” Secondly – he persecuted Christians.  He admits that he tried to destroy the church.  Lastly – and I think this is so important – God chose him to carry the gospel to an unreached group of people.

Here’s the beautiful part for me.  God was pleased to reveal His Son to Paul.   And to me.   And to you.  And to everyone that is willing to open their heart to Him.

How do we find out what He wants to reveal to us?  We read His Word AND we pray.

Did you know that praying Scripture will help you to learn it?  And when we learn it, we can share it!  My friend Candace, over at His Mercy Is New, provides guides for “Praying Through the Scripture” for every month of the year.  These guides cover topics like how to pray for our children, our spouse, our enemies………….. You can click HERE to link directly to her Scripture guides. I encourage you to take a look at these and then start praying.  See what God wants to show you.

Until tomorrow…………Joy to You!

signature6

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

