Finding My “Quiet”

messy desk

Back on January 2nd, I wrote about my word for the year. Since then, I have considered how to achieve living out a “quiet” life.  You see, my life is anything but quiet.  My days are filled with homeschooling and running my kids to their various extra-curricula activities…..my desk is a mess (as you can see in the photo here), my closets & cabinets need to be organized….I have unfinished craft projects just waiting for attention…..laundry is ALWAYS piled up somewhere………

It’s overwhelming!!

I’ve read over the definition of quiet more than once.  The part that really sticks out to me is “free, or comparatively free, from noise”.  Noise doesn’t have to be audible.  To me, my desk is noisy.  My pantry is noisy.  My life is noisy. Even my computer screen is noisy.  Anyone else spend lots of time looking for files on their computer desktop?  If you do, you know what I mean by my computer screen being noisy.

So, how do I combat the noise?

First, I am beginning to pray about it more.  Seems like common sense but honestly, I rarely pray about my day to day activities.  Sure, I ask for blessings over my day but I really think that God cares about the little stuff too.  So I am now making the effort to specifically pray about the daily stuff….the cooking, cleaning, etcdesktop organizerfor post., etc.

Second, I found a cool “desktop organizer” on Pinterest.  It was created by Heather over at Moritz Fine Designs.  The best part about it is that it’s FREE.  She has other beautiful designs too, I just happen to like the whole chalkboard theme right now.  AND I was able to put my favorite Bible verse on the bottom so that I am reminded of it’s great truth often.

Third, also on Pinterest, I found a cleaning schedule that I can fill in myself and then keep up with when I do certain tasks.  I often think that I must be the only person on the planet that cannot remember the last time I dusted the ceiling fans…….and then I found pin after pin about keeping cleaning scheduleup with the tasks around the house.  It is created by Crystal over at Money Saving Mom.  The first page is a list of what she does daily and weekly.  It’s the second page that I love because the version I have is divided into monthly, every 3 months, and every six months.  The version on her site now, is slightly different and still a great resource.

I am still working on figuring out how to tackle my desk, bookshelves, and the craft table.  I’ll get there.  It’s all a work in progress.

I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention the 2nd most important thing I am doing to “find my quiet”. It helps me to “be still and know that HE is God”.  I have taken a challenge to read the Bible in 100 days.  The challenge was put out by Candace over at His Mercy Is New.  If you’ve not visited her site, you should.  She has a love for God’s Word and is teaching those of us who follow her blog how to pray the Scriptures.  Anyway, I started the 100 Day challenge a few days late and I am reading slow, taking notes, and savoring God’s Word so I am behind.  Realistically, I will be reading the Bible through in 110 or maybe even 120 days.  I am not letting it stress me out though.  I’m doing this to learn more about God — not to complete a challenge.  The reading plan that Candace created just helps me stay on track.

That’s my plan, as it stands in this very moment, to add a little “quiet” to my life.  How about you?  Is your life filled with noise?  Or do you have the “quiet” that I am striving for.

Joy to You!

signature6

 

 

3 thoughts on “Finding My “Quiet”

  1. Thank you for sharing this, Robin. I’ve been struggling to work on ridding my life of some noise as well. I love your theme of “quiet” this year…God is using you to inspire me – as always!!

    P.S. I bought sock bags recently and folded 35 pair of socks in record time the other night! 🙂 yay!! 🙂

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

