My Word for 2015

It’s January 2nd and I have been considering whether or not I wanted to select a “word for the year”.  It’s really a challenge to chose a word and then focus on it.  My hesitation comes from knowing that I had success and failure in living out the selected “word” the past 3 years.  I would begin strong and then life would get in the way.   I would do a pulse check and have a renewed sense of determination……..and life would happen.

 Conform (2012)…..Diligent (2013)….. Impact (2014) are the words that I have previously selected.  The ones that I had both success and failure in seeing through to the end of the year.  The words that caused me to question if I really wanted to do this again.

I woke up yesterday morning, New Year’s Day, thinking about it.  What word could I chose?  Do I want to do this?  Does it really matter anyway? These and other questions were running through my head.

And then, I had a thought.

QUIET!!

Immediately after that, the beginning of Psalm 46:10 came to my mind:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wondered if this is my “word” for 2015.  Quiet means “free, or comparatively free, from noise”.  It also means “refraining or free from activity, especially busy…activity”.  Here’s the cool thing — the synonym for quiet is STILL.

I looked up Psalm 46:10 because I knew the beginning but I was sure that it said more.

It does.  

It goes on to say, “I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!”

How cool is that?  To have the Lord give us the assurance that He will be exalted.  How will this happen?   When we make the effort to “be still and know that He is God”.   It makes sense.  At least it does to me.

So my word for 2015 is QUIET.  My focus will be to “be STILL and know the He is God”.  This means first and foremost, I will meditate on His word more.  It also means that I will work on finding the QUIET in other areas of my life.  How will I do this?  Maybe it’s being more organized and getting rid of clutter.  Maybe it’s taking time daily to sit and just relax.   I am not 100% sure what it will look like, I just know that I am to be quiet and still.

May you also “know” that He is God this year.

Joy to You!

signature6

 

 

 

One thought on “My Word for 2015

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

