Enter In

Can you believe that it’s already November?  It is really just registering with me.  That means that Christmas is coming.   SOON.
That also means that this is the month that we seem to focus on being thankful.  There are Facebook challenges to post something we’re thankful for every day in November.  I have participated in this type challenge for the past few years. This year, I decided not to.  It’s not that I’m any less thankful than last year or the year before that.  It’s just that, well……..I am realizing more and more every day to be thankful all the time.
I like to read at least one Psalm a day.  It helps remind me of God’s faithfulness from the beginning of time. Yesterday I read Psalm 100.  It’s one of those that many of us memorized as a child.  Have you ever noticed the instruction it gives?  It goes like this:
Make a joyful noise to the LORD, all the earth!
Serve the LORD with gladness!
Come into his presence with singing!
Know that the LORD, he is God! It is he who made us, and we are his;we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.
Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise!
Give thanks to him; bless his name!
For the LORD is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations.
I have probably said it, read it 100+ times.  What I am not sure of is if I ever paid real attention to the instructions.  I laugh all the time about the “make a joyful noise” part.  My singing is joyful and most would say it’s definitely noise. {smile} Anyway, I love to sing.  That is how we are to enter his presence.  Isn’t that what corporate worship is all about?
Verse 4 reminded me that every time I come into His presence I should be thankful.  Even for the hard stuff.
Bless His name.  He is worthy of our praise.
The last verse reminds us that He IS good.  His love endures forever.  What a promise!  What a reason to be thankful!
Happy November!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAJoy to You!

signature6

 

 

4 thoughts on “Enter In

  1. I’ve particpated in thankfulness challenges before, and this year I jumped in on Ann Voskamp’s #1000giftsin30, where we write down 1000 blessings in 30 days. It’s hard. Keeping an eye out for 33 gifts each day. But today…I was overcome with gratitude, in a moment of complaint. So…definitely worth it!

    What a great God we serve, who delights in showering us in ridiculous blessings!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

