A Dwelling Place

I absolutely love the book of Colossians.  It puts me face to face with Jesus.  Helps me to know Him more.  Helps me to focus on Him more. I’ve read it 20 or 30 times.  Why?  Because I really do just love it!
So the other day, I opened my Bible and started to,once again, read Colossians.  I was moving through Chapter 1 when I came across a verse that had never – in the 20 or 30 times I’ve read it before – stuck out to me. 
Starting in verse 15, Jesus is described as the image of the invisible God…..the firstborn of all creation…..he is before all things…..in him all things hold together…..the head of the body, the church…..
The list goes on until it gets to verse 19.  The one that stuck out to me.  It says: 

…for in Him all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell,..

I wept.
I could not get past the fact that, because I accepted Christ as my Savior at age 7, the Holy Spirit lives in me.  I could not get past the fact that I am broken and wounded.  I kept asking myself why.  Why would the Holy spirit want to dwell in me?  
I have a dear friend who is a godly example of a wife, mother, daughter, friend………..  She said to me once, “I am a wretch!”  Pure and simple. Humble and broken.  I’ve thought of her saying that a million times.  I’ve felt it myself at least a million and one times.  And now, I am reminded in this beautiful passage that the fullness of God was pleased to dwell in Christ.  So where does that leave me?
I, of course, had to look up the meaning of the word dwell.  It means:

to live or stay as a permanent resident; reside

So if the Holy Spirit lives in me, that makes me a dwelling.  Here’s the definition:

dwelling

This photo is of a house in Historic Jamestown, VA.  Isn’t it beautiful?  To me, in it’s current state and because I love architecture, I think it is. But oh how it must have looked in the 1750’s when it was built.  It was built by the Ambler family and was the centerpiece of their plantation. Elegant is the word used to describe it.  It survived 2 wars and 2 fires.  After a third fire in 1850, the family abandoned it.
When I read Colossians 1:19 and began to think about me being the dwelling place of the Holy Spirit, I thought of this photo.  See, He doesn’t abandon me after I’ve been through a “fire”.  As a matter of fact, those fires refine me like silver.  Jesus came for me.  On the cross He took on my sin.  The weight He felt that day, it was my weight.  What a beautiful thought.
We all want to be beautiful and “put together”.  No cracks.  No brokenness.  I’m learning that Jesus can take that brokenness and make it beautiful.  I spent the 31 Days of October focusing on Hymns of Praise.  Intentionally thinking about praising the Lord on a daily basis can do something to you.  At least it did something to me.
I’m not perfect.  I never will be.  Often I may look like the Ambler’s house, broken and missing key things that make me seem complete.  But what I know is that because I asked Jesus into my heart, the Holy Spirit dwells with me.  The rest of Colossians has much to say about the characteristics that we, as believers, should have.  That’s why I read it often…I need the reminder.
It’s a daily thing to keep “clean” but my heart is like a beautiful plantation home to the Lord.  It’s His dwelling place.   

dwelling2

 Joy to You!

signature6

 

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

