I Need Thee Every Hour ~ Day 15: Hymns of Praise

This is an old time favorite.  I’ve heard it all my life.  The older I get, the more I realize just how true it is.  Every time life hits an unplanned bump, I realize how true it is.  Every time I turn on the news and hear of the tragedy and hurt in the world, I realize just how true it is.  Every hour of every day, I need Him.
clock
Annie Hawks wrote this as a poem in 1872.  Her pastor put it to music not long after she shared it with him.  I found this account, in her own words, of putting the words into the form of a poem:
I remember well the morning….when in the midst of the daily cares of my home…I was so filled with the sense of nearness to the Master that, wondering how one could live without Him either in joy or pain, into my mind, the thought at once taking full possession of me..For myself the hymn was prophetic rather than expressive of my own experience at the time it was written, and I do not understand why it so touched the great throbbing heart of humanity.

I need Thee every hour, most gracious Lord;
No tender voice like Thine can peace afford.

I need Thee, oh, I need Thee;
Every hour I need Thee;
Oh, bless me now, my Savior,
I come to Thee.

I need Thee every hour, stay Thou nearby;
Temptations lose their pow’r when Thou art nigh.

I need Thee every hour, in joy or pain;
Come quickly and abide, or life is vain.

I need Thee every hour; teach me Thy will;
And Thy rich promises in me fulfill.

I need Thee every hour, most Holy One;
Oh, make me Thine indeed, Thou blessed Son.

 Until tomorrow!
Joy to You,
signature6
One thought on “I Need Thee Every Hour ~ Day 15: Hymns of Praise

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

