It Is Well With My Soul ~ Day 5: Hymns of Praise

I know that there are wonderful new hymns and songs of praise but for some reason, my heart returns to the old ones.  I have beautiful memories of being in church at ageit is well 5 or 6, standing beside my precious grandmother, singing the hymns.

I love the version of It Is Well that Kutless sings.  We live in trying times.  Peace does come and right on the heels are the sorrows that roll.  I think of the movie “Facing the Giants” when Grant Taylor said that he would praise Him in the good and he would praise Him in the difficulties.  (My paraphrase)

Difficulty is exactly where the words to this beautiful song came from. Horatio Gates Spafford lost his four daughters to a ship wreck in mid-1780’s. His wife was also on the ship but survived.  Later, on a ship himself to join his wife in England, he saw the spot where his daughters perished and there, penned the words to this song.

Could I do that?  Write words like this having lost not one, but four, children.   I am not sure that I do or could.  I mean eventually I get there but when I am blindsided with the things that shake me, sometimes I don’t say that “it is well”.  But those are little things…….

Not great loss.  Not heart wrenching pain.

Here are the words.  May you be encouraged in peace and in sorrow.

It Is Well With My Soul (Horatio Gates Spafford)

When peace like a river attendeth my way
When sorrows like sea billows roll
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say
It is well, it is well with my soul

It is well with my soul
It is well with my soul

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought
My sin, not in part but the whole
Is nailed to the cross and I bear it no more
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, oh my soul

It is well with my soul
It is well with my soul
It is well with my soul
It is well with my soul

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll
The trump shall resound and the Lord shall descend
Even so, it is well with my soul

It is well with my soul
It is well with my soul
It is well with my soul
It is well with my soul

My prayer is that I learn to say these three small words.  At all times.  That I can be a light to others going through hard times.  I pray that today, “it is well”.

Joy to You!

signature6

3 thoughts on “It Is Well With My Soul ~ Day 5: Hymns of Praise

  1. Beautiful hymn. My friend has suffered deep tragedy and grief and she recently sent me a set of framed prints; one has a barren branch and says “it is well” and the other has a branch in bloom and says “with my soul”. I love it because she has to fight for joy every single day, and it’s a great reminder that Jesus really has made everything well with our souls.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

