Come Thy Fount ~ Day 4: Hymns of Praise

Can you imagine having your own words to bring you back to the place that you should be with the Lord?  That is possibly what happened with Robert Robinson, who penned the words in his early 20’s, somewhere around 1757-1758.  It is said that he was a hoodlum of sorts for a time in his life.  Then, after hearing George Whitfield preach, he gave his life to Christ.  He became a pastor and theologian writing many theological works and hymns, including this one….my favorite.
Later in life he experienced times where he returned to the sinful lifestyle prior to his conversion.
I heard a story about Robinson several years ago that, during one of his returns to a sinful lifestyle, he was in a stagecoach and heard a woman humming.  She asked him what he thought of the song, his song “Come Thy Fount”.  He cried and told her that he had written the song many years before.  The version of the story I heard said that he revised the song after that encounter.  That he returned to the Lord.  I’m not sure about the revision after that encounter but for some reason, I have remembered that story for many years now.  I don’t know why it stuck with me.  But his struggle gives me hope…
My sinful nature is definitely prone to wander.  
I pray that as you read the words penned so long ago that you will “tune your heart to sing Thy grace”
stagecoach
I have discovered that there is an additional verse that has been omitted from the hymn books since approximately 1860.  It goes like this:

O that day when freed from sinning,
I shall see Thy lovely face;
Clothèd then in blood washed linen
How I’ll sing Thy sovereign grace;
Come, my Lord, no longer tarry,
Take my ransomed soul away;
Send thine angels now to carry
Me to realms of endless day.

Just too beautiful not to share.   Don’t you long for that day…freed from sinning when we will see His lovely face?
Until Tomorrow!
Joy to You!
signature6

 

 

Here’s the link to Day 1 (& a list of all the posts written in the “31 Hymns of Praise in 31 Days” so far)

One thought on “Come Thy Fount ~ Day 4: Hymns of Praise

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

