How Great Thou Art ~ Day 2: Hymns of Praise

31 hymns 300

Today would have been my Daddy’s birthday.  He went home to be with the Lord a little more than 15 years ago.  I still get teary when I hear one of his favorite hymns.  Today, I want to share that hymn…nothing more…in honor of my Daddy.

How Great Thou Art (Carl Boberg, written in 1885)

O Lord my God,
When I in awesome wonder
Consider all
The works Thy Hand hath made,

I see the stars,
I hear the mighty thunder,
Thy pow’r throughout
The universe displayed, 

When through the woods
And forest glades I wander
I hear the birds
Sing sweetly in the trees,
When I look down
From lofty mountain grandeur
And hear the brook
And feel the gentle breeze, 

Then sings my soul,
My Savior God, to Thee,
How great Thou art!
How great Thou art!
Then sings my soul,
My Savior God, to Thee,
How great Thou art!
How great Thou art!  

   When Christ shall come,
With shouts of acclamation,
And take me home,
What joy shall fill my heart!
Then I shall bow
In humble adoration
And there proclaim,
“My God, how great Thou art!” 

Then sings my soul,
My Savior God, to Thee,
How great Thou art!
How great Thou art!
Then sings my soul,
My Savior God, to Thee,
How great Thou art!
How great Thou art!

Considering all His hands have made…

Joy to You!

signature6

One thought on “How Great Thou Art ~ Day 2: Hymns of Praise

  1. What a beautiful hymn! And a lovely tribute to your father. Mine is still alive and I’m grateful for our time together everyday. Thank you for sharing this 🙂

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

