I Shouldn’t Be Surprised!! (A Think on These Things post)

 

prowl3

We are a month into school now and maybe it’s my age but I’m having a harder time getting into routine this year.
The past three years of homeschooling started with excitement for the kids and for me.
But not this year.
The past three years I have had lesson plans done early in the summer.
But not this year.
I’m not really sure why it’s this way.  We had a really good, but really busy summer.  (I still want to blog about our summer…….maybe someday).  I am excited about the curriculum changes, and choices, that I made this year.  AND I was ready for the year to get off to a rolling start.  We started, we just weren’t rolling.  We made it through the first week.  Slowly.
The 2nd week, co-op started.  We were all excited to be back in the routine of co-op.  And we were glad to see our friends and all the perks that come with the co-op.
But with the next few weeks also came attitudes and words that just made my heart hurt.  After a deep breath and a short prayer, I realized that I shouldn’t be surprised when things get hard. We had just studied 1 Peter in Sunday school where Scripture reminded me that the enemy prowls around waiting to devour.  He wants our families, our marriages, our children.  He wants our homeschool classrooms.  Why?  Because in my homeschool classroom, first and foremost, I want my children to see the hand of God in every subject.  God is all in math, science, history, art, music, and even grammar.  I mean think about it.  He spoke the world into existence.  That covers all the subjects in one fail swoop!  Our curriculum speaks of God.  And well, the enemy doesn’t want my kids to think about God.
So the pull and temptation for the things of the world are prevalent and those things can be appealing to all of us.  And unfortunately that pull and temptation is often stronger to our kids that we have encouraged to love the Lord with all their heart, soul, and mind.  Our kids are young and curious.  They were created by God to learn and grow.  And I have to face the fact that things that are different from our everyday routine will rouse curiosity and could be tempting.  Facing that fact doesn’t mean I have to give in to the things that cause a rift here and there in our homeschool day.
Today I read Proverbs 3:5-6.  What a blessing to see the promises of God when my heart is heavy.  To be reminded that when I trust in Him with all my heart and lean not to my understanding; and IF I acknowledge Him in all my ways, He will make my path straight.
So when temptation comes.  When I feel the enemy prowling, I will trust in Him.  I will acknowledge Him.
I pray that your school year – whether homeschool, private school, or public school – is full of the blessings of the Lord!
Joy to You!

signature6

 

 

think on these things

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

