It’s a Wrap!!

Our 3rd year of homeschooling has come to a close .

It’s bittersweet.

On the one hand, the kids and I are both ready for a break.  On the other hand, I really like our school days.

I have been reviewing the year as I work on records and paperwork that are required by our state for me to keep.  Thinking back on the projects…..the field trips….Teen Pact….. all that they learned.  The struggles.  The victories.  The laughter.  And, yes, the tears.

year in review

(Just a peek from our year)

I still marvel at the fact that homeschooling was the cry of my heart for many years but not the plan that the Lord had for our family. I remember driving to work — a job that I really liked — crying because I wanted to be home.  I wanted to teach them.

And so, 3 years after moving back to SC, I have been teaching them.  And I am blessed.

As my kids have gotten older, I am finding that they teach me as much as I teach them.  And sometimes, those lessons are hard!

The other evening, my daughter was a little nervous about something.  She couldn’t sleep.  She admitted being worried.  I pulled my favorite “do not worry” verse out.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  ~ Philippians 4:6-7

As we prayed together, I said the words of these verses.  She finally drifted off to sleep.  Then, as I drifted off to sleep, it was if I heard the Lord tell me to “practice what I preach”.  You see, I had been working on school paperwork when she came to talk to me. Reviewing the year had me worried that I didn’t do enough with them.  Or teach them the right things.  Did I spend too much time on this subject and not enough time on that subject?  The Lord knew I needed the reminder and He knew that having it come through experiencing her worries would make more of an impact on me.

What a blessing to be able to share and apply God’s Word to my life and the lives of my kids.  What a privilege to teach them and to walk through each day with them.

Yes, I am blessed.

Happy Summer & Joy to You!

signature6

 

 

 

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

