Just Call Me Martha!

My name is not Martha but I can REALLY identify with her lately.  I’ve had so much going on with church and school and family and friends and……..well, you get the idea.  I’ve had so much going on that I haven’t always “chosen the good portion”.

Do you know the passage where Jesus said these words?  It’s Luke 10:38-42.  It’s the story of Jesus visiting in the home of His friends Mary and Martha.

38 Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed him into her house. 39 And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. 40 But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.” 41 But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, 42 but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

In the past 5 weeks, there have been many things that have made me anxious and some that have troubled me.  There have been many things to take my attention away from sitting at the feet of Jesus.  Meditating on these verses — looking at the things that have taken up my time and depleted my energy — I realize that some of these “things” had me in God’s Word.  The thing is that I was in His Word, studying to share with others….not studying for the purpose of really meeting with Jesus.

My desire is to consciously choose the “good portion”…the “one necessary thing”.  May you also find yourself at His feet…listening.

Joy to you!

signature6

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Just Call Me Martha!

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

