X and Y

We’re getting close to the end of the alphabet.  These letters get harder to write about.  I completely missed X because I just couldn’t come up with the right word.  I decided that it might be easier to combine with Y…but that was really difficult too.

Then, as I prepared to attend the Teach Them Diligently Homeschool Convention, I knew that what X should be!

exhausted

This is how I felt going into the convention.  I had, literally, burned the midnight oil the night before we left.  Homeschool conventions are wonderful but when you go into it feeling like you’ve been hit by a bus, it’s hard to wrap your mind around all that is available……..or at least that was the case last week.

eXhausted is defined on Dictionary.com as: “to drain of strength or energy, wear out, or fatigue greatly”.

Even though that is exactly how I felt, I was really looking forward to the convention.  Not only was I about to be exposed to a great selection of speakers to gain insight from but I was preparing to spend 3-1/2 days with precious friends from KY.  That alone put some spring in my step. {smile}

The convention was all I expected.  I think a recap of favorite sessions is in order but I’ll save that for another post.  Seeing our friends — laughing, learning, and even crying with them was such a treat.    I had no idea when we headed home on Sunday that my eXhaustion was really just beginning.

2 am Monday morning, our daughter woke us up.  She was sick.  She vomited from 2 to 7 am.  She and I got little sleep.  There’s a virus going around our town and I am sure that there were germs everywhere we went over the weekend.  Long story short, she became dehydrated and we ended up in the ER.  Then we were admitted so that she could receive fluids and this resulted in just over 24 hours in the hospital.  NOW I felt eXhausted!!

As I laid beside her on the couch Sunday night and sat beside her hospital bed, I was reminded of a few sessions that I attended over the weekend at the convention.  They were both on relying on the Lord.  Something I know in my head but often, I admit, don’t carry out.  Little did I know that they Lord, in those sessions, was giving me ammunition for the days ahead that I did not yet know I needed.

This verse came to mind:

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

Matthew 11: 28-30

I heard it in one of the sessions. And so, that’s my Y word.  YOKE

Do you know what a yoke is?  What they look like?

It is a a device for joining together a pair of draft animals.   A yoke typically looks a lot like this:

yolk

Doesn’t look comfortable does it?  Even for an animal.

Do you ever feel like you have one of these around your neck?  That the weight of all that you have going on resembles such a device?  I think this depicts eXhaustion!

The good news is that the Lord doesn’t want us to take this stuff on all by ourselves.  He wants us to lay it at His feet.  To learn from Him.

Isn’t that cool?  That He cares about us enough to have our weights, our concerns on his shoulders?

I think so.

As I write this, it is late in the evening.  I am still pretty tired but I rejoice that my Jesus carries my burdens.  And that I can “come to Him”.  His YOKE is my solution for eXhaustion.

Won’t you find rest in Him tonight?

Joy to You!

signature6

 

 

Join me and others as we are finishing up this round of Blogging through the Alphabet over at Ben and Me.

6341b-bloggingthroughthealphabetsm

2 thoughts on “X and Y

  1. I just want you to know that our spirits are always so encouraged after spending time with you all, your friendship is a real blessing. I know it took sacrifices for you as a family to make to the trek to the Homeschool Conference, we were so thankful that you came! Praying for renewed health and strength for Leah and for prevision, joy and extra energy for you and Kevin. Love you all

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

