T is for …………..

thanks

Yes!  I said THANKS.

I know it’s not the typical time of year that we point out THANKS.  But should there be a typical time?

I think not!

I sometimes….or maybe I should say frequently complain.  It’s a nasty habit.  But I do it.  Most of the time it’s my own selfishness coming out that is causing the complaining.  Really, I have nothing to complain about.  I have a wonderful husband.  I have beautiful, smart, talented children.  A precious extended family. I have friends near and far.  I have a warm home and food on the table.  Oh yeah, and clothes on my back.  That’s just the beginning of the list of things that make me know I have nothing to complain about.  But, sadly, I do.

This year I am making a concerted effort to take the “Joy Dare”.  It’s a challenge put forth by Ann Voskamp, author of One Thousand Gifts.  I’ve tried it before and it’s been hit or miss.  But this year, I am trying really hard to keep up.  To let thankfulness impact (remember, that’s my word for the year) my life.  I went to Wal-Mart and bought a green polka-dotted note book.  I printed out all the Joy Dare list for the year, I am recording my 1,000 gifts of 2014.  It’s looks something like this:

joy_dare

I’ve missed a day or two but I try to go back and remember what the day was like.  If I can’t remember the day, I think of something in the moment.  I’ll admit, it hasn’t really changed my outlook yet, but there are glimmers of light that I can see.

Our pastor has been preaching on being thankful the past few weeks.  He challenged us to write down things we are thankful.  And to write notes….and mail them….to thank those who have an impact on our lives.  (Ummm, I still need to do that one this week!)

His sermon Sunday was on the 10 lepers that asked Jesus for healing.  Jesus told them to go to and show themselves to the priests. They did and they were cleansed.  Then 1 went back and thanked Jesus for what He had done for him.  Only 1!  It got me to thinking. Am I like the 9?  Or am I like the 1?  I’d love to think that I am like the 1 but I’ll be honest I’m often more like the 9.

Something to think about.  Something for me to strive towards.  Being more thankful.

Will you join me?  Will you find things in the middle of the sometimes ugly that you can be thankful for?

I pray your weekend is thank “filled”!

Joy to You!

signature6

6341b-bloggingthroughthealphabetsm  This post is linked up with Ben and Me as I join others in “Blogging through the Alphabet”

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

