S is for…..

myshield
Weeks ago when I began this round of “Blogging through the Alphabet” I started with A is for Attributes of God.  I have focused on His attributes here and there but today wanted to concentrate on one of His most important attributes. 
 He is “my SHIELD.”
 Do you ever just sigh in relief because He is?  I know I do.  When the life is more than I think I can bear, He steps in and protects me.  How awesome is that?
 The English Standard Version of the Bible has 21 verses in Psalms alone that remind us that God is our SHIELD.  Here are just a few of those verses that I find comforting:
Psalm 3:3~ But you, O LORD, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head.
Psalm 18:2~ The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
Psalm 18:30~ This God–his way is perfect; the word of the LORD proves true; he is a shield for all those who take refuge in him.
Psalm 18:35 ~ You have given me the shield of your salvation, and your right hand supported me, and your gentleness made me great.
Psalm 28:7 ~ The LORD is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts, and I am helped; my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.
Psalm 84:11~ For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor. No good thing does he withhold from those who walk uprightly.
Psalm 115:11~ You who fear the LORD, trust in the LORD! He is their help and their shield.
Psalm 119:114~ You are my hiding place and my shield; I hope in your word.
 When I am afraid, when I am unsure, when I feel vulnerable to the world around me, these verses…this promise…are what I hold on to.  This gives me hope.
 I do take note in the fact that more than once the Psalmist says that He is the SHIELD of those who trust in the Lord… who take refuge in Him…who fear the Lord.  Our faith and hope in Him comes into play.  But oh how beautiful that when we are scared and when our faith seems small, He is still faithful.  He remains our SHIELD.  Praise the Lord for His promises!
 I pray that this week you will feel the Lord’s shield around you. 
Joy to You!
signature6
 
 
 
This “Think on These Things” post is linked up with Marcy over at Ben and Me as I join others in “Blogging through the Alphabet”
                                                               think on these things   6341b-bloggingthroughthealphabetsm
One thought on “S is for…..

  1. Pingback: Taking refuge in God | daily meditation

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

