P is for …………

prayer

Did you know that there are all kinds of prayers?  I listed a few in the graphic above.  There are also many acrostics to help us in “organizing” our prayers.  Seems for a very long time, people have wondered what the right way to pray is.  Even the disciples wondered.  They questioned Jesus and in Matthew 6:9, this is what He said to them:

Pray, then, in this way: “Our Father who art in heaven, hallowed by Thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors. And do not lead us into temptation, but deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever. Amen.”

Isn’t that beautiful?  The words of the Son to the Father.  Seems a good model to me but the reality is that I still wonder sometimes how to pray.  What to pray.  In her book Unglued, Lysa TerKeurst tells of a time when she was called to comfort a woman who had just received devastating news.  Lysa admits that she did not know how to pray so she simply called on the name of Jesus.  Sounds like good advice to me.  The beautiful thing is that when we do this, Romans 8:34 tells us that Jesus is seated at the right hand of the Father interceding on our behalf.  He hears us and goes before the Father to pray for us.  Wow!

The subject of prayer was in the middle of  Breaking Free by Beth Moore, the Bible study that I am participating at church on Wednesday nights right now.  This past week we read about the kings that reigned during the time that Isaiah was alive and being used as God’s messenger.  I was struck by a prayer that Beth went over in the lesson this week.  It was a prayer by King Manasseh told to us in 2 Chronicles 33:12-13.  Manasseh was evil.  One of the worst kings ever.  He did detestable things.  He did not walk in the ways of the Lord.  Yet when he was taken prisoner and was at his lowest point, he called out to the Lord and God had mercy on him. He repented and God restored him to his kingdom.  Manasseh knew then that the Lord was God.

Isn’t it cool that we can mess up and God will still hear us when we call?  We can pray prayers of repentance just like King Manasseh did.

I once met a man that I shared a mutual friend with.  When we met, he said to me, “I hear you are a lady who prays.”  Wow!  That’s a description that carries a heavy weight.  That means that if someone asks you to pray for them, they expect you too.  Sadly, I haven’t always lived up to that description.  I try.  I really do.  But sometimes, I am weary.  Sometimes, I don’t know what to say.  Sometimes, I am ashamed to admit, I forget.

Years later, I heard someone say that if someone asks you to pray for them, that you should do it right then.  Doesn’t matter where you are.  What a testimony to pray in the grocery store.  Or at the gas station.  Or in a restaurant….and it not be a blessing over the food.

One word I used in my graphic above, that is not in a dictionary definition of prayer, is “purposeful”.  This is my way of being sure that I keep my word and pray when specific requests come my way.  A few years back, a dear friend ask me to pray for her.  I knew the seriousness of her request.  I didn’t want to forget.  I didn’t want to let her down so I decided that I would pray for her every morning when I wash my hair.  Now that may sound silly to you but my friend has beautiful hair; me, not so much.  And being purposeful in my prayers works for me.  Over the past few years, since coming up with this prayer connection for my friend, I have done the same with others that have asked me to pray for them.

Prayer is communication with God.  It’s a beautiful, wonderful thing.  It’s a gift straight from the Father above.  What a blessing!

Joy AND PRAYERS to you!

signature6

This post is linked up with others over at Ben and Me as we “Blog through the Alphabet”

6341b-bloggingthroughthealphabetsm

One thought on “P is for …………

  1. Pingback: Proverbs 31:12 | Proverbs 31 Wanna-be

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

