What We’ve Been Up To

In my life recently…..
Happy New Year!  Yes, I realize that January is more than half way over.  It’s been over 2 months since I sat down to journal about our homeschool days.  I have thought about it.  I have planned on it.  And well….it just hasn’t happened.  Instead, life has happened and I am thinking that that’s a good thing.
 I hope it’s okay for me to do a quick rundown.  We spent the month of November traveling back and forth to our hometown visiting with my hubby’s precious 93 year old grandmother.  She passed away in early December and we are so glad that we had had those last few special visits with her.  She lived a long and wonderful life.  She had 8 children, 7 of whom are still living, many grandchildren, great-grandchildren and even a few great, great grandchildren.  Her legacy will live on for generations and I am so thankful that I have the privilege of being part of her family.
December was full.  In a good way.  We had parties and plays.  We spent time with family and friends.  We ate lots of yummy food.  My sister had surgery but has recovered well and is back at work.  Because she was restricted in what she could do, the kids and I went to her house mid-December and helped out with an event at her church called “Santa Express”.  This is an event where children from the community, who have been “adopted” by members of her church for Christmas, come for dinner and to receive their gifts.  What a day it was.  I think maybe the highlight of the season for me.
We spent New Year’s week in KY with friends and loved every minute of it.  We were able to see many people that became our family while we lived there for 6 years.
Our kids also had birthdays the first week of January.  They are growing up WAY too fast!!
In our homeschool…..
mathusee-benandme
School is really going great right now.  We are settled back into our routine and just really enjoying our school days.  Leah is studying Benjamin Franklin so we’ve taken a break from our History curriculum and are reading Ben and Me aloud.  What a great story. 
I also changed Math curriculum for Leah this semester.  We switched to Math-U-See.  We are reviewing the first part of the book at a rather quick pace these first few weeks to get a good foundation for how the curriculum is designed and how it works.
Wyatt is forging ahead with all of his classes.  His English class, through our co-op, will soon begin studying Romeo & Juliet.  He’s also working hard on a map Asia for Geography.
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
I am learning as this new semester, New Year, starts that I need to just enjoy each moment of each day.
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
All the normal places that are routine for us.  Co-op, ballet, violin, church, swim team, and we’ve added Upward basketball to the mix for about 8 weeks.  Wyatt is helping to coach and Leah is cheering.  They are having lots of fun.
My favorite things…..
Helping my sister at her church with the “Santa Express” event AND spending New Year’s in KY with dear friends.
My kiddos favorite thing..…
Being in KY for New Year’s.  They absolutely loved spending a whole week visiting with their friends.
Things I’m working on…
I don’t make resolutions but I do have a goal to be more organized in 2014.  Starting with baby steps – one shelf or drawer at a time.
I’m reading …
I am really embarrassed to admit that I have a few books I never finished last year.  So, I have  a goal to finish those and then read more this year.  So, right now, I am finishing up Lit! A Christian’s Guide to Reading Literature.
I am also finishing up Devotions From Genesis by Nicole Halbrooks Vaughn in my quiet time.  I have moved slow through this because it is just so exciting to walk through Genesis.
I’m cooking…
Healthier.  Or at least I am trying.  I have two new favorites.  Homemade, from scratch, tomato soup and Baked Oatmeal.  Also, Apple Butter Muffins.  All are delicious.
healthy food
I’m grateful for…
So much.  This list is long.
I’m praying for…
Friends and family who have heavy burdens.
A photo, video, link, or a quote to share…
My Upward Cheerleader!
leah-cheer
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal.
Joy to You!
signature6
One thought on “What We’ve Been Up To

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

