O is for……….

O is for what I would like to be more of?
What is that, you may – or may not – ask?
organizedI think I need an organization intervention
This is what I posted on Facebook Tuesday of this week after spending an hour looking for a test my daughter had taken.  It was in my possession.  I remember her handing it to me.  I just could. not. find. it.  I was SO frustrated.
Then on Wednesday evening, as I was unwinding from a long day, I ran across the daily post from Ann Voskamp of A Holy Experience.  She called it “The #1 Organizing Secret that No One Tells You — That Can Change Everyone’s Life”.  There was that word.  My call for help.  
Of course, I had to read it.  And I am so glad that I did.  I like to think that the Lord led me to that post this week.  He’s good that way to give us what we need, when we need it.
There are many wise words in her post.  So many I could quote but my favorite was this:

When my life is organized around Jesus, who is Beautiful, my messy life is organized beautifully.

That was it.  I am so intent on a place for everything and everything in it’s place that I often forget what my life should be centered around.   I do my best to have a quiet time every morning but sometimes, I’m just going through the motions.  I forget what I read as soon as I close my Bible.  I walk away from my quiet spot and see the dishes in the sink, the boxes that haven’t been unpacked –even though we moved in two years ago, the disheveled stacks of sheets and towels in the linen closet,……….you get the idea.
Our God is a God of order.  He created the heavens and the earth and everything in them in order.  If He cares so much about order, then I think I should to.
So I have have a list.  A long one of drawers and cabinets and closets that need to be organized.  I have a goal to tackle a few a week.  Even if I just get one shelf done a day, it’s progress.  Right?
If you need encouragement in organizing or just encouragement in general, I recommend reading A Holy Experience.   Encouragement can also be found over at Ben and Me as I join Marcy and others as we continue to “Blog through the Alphabet”.

6341b-bloggingthroughthealphabetsm

Joy to You!

signature6

2 thoughts on “O is for……….

  1. what a great post. I love Ann’s website and have been writing down my 1000 gifts for this year. Great encourgement.. Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. Looking forward to seeing your future posts as we blog the alphabet 🙂

    Like

    • I have done her 1000 gifts here and there over the past couple of years but this year I purchased a little notebook to keep them all in so that I can hopefully keep up and actually do 1000 this year.

      Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

