N…and…M…and…L…

I am really late getting my L and M post out for the “Blogging through the Alphabet” series with Marcy over at Ben and Me.  I had great plans.  You see, we spent New Years week in Louisville.  So, with a little help from a friend,  I am combining L, M, and N — just in reverse order.  
So here goes…………

New Year Memories in Louisville

First, I’d like to wish you all a very Happy New Year!  May the Lord bless you this year with His abundant grace and mercy.
2014Our dear friends had a New Years Eve party complete with a countdown on the TV during the evening.  When the clock struck midnight, this is what we saw!! 
Speaking of dear friends, these ladies are very special to me.  So excited that I was able to ring in 2014 with them.
sweet friends
me_marcy
 Yep!  That’s Marcy and me!  So excited to spend the evening with her!!
bacon_shirt
The theme of the New Year’s Eve party was Chocolate and Bacon.  This is this shirt my son wore to the party!  Appropriate, don’t ya think?!
While in Louisville, we were able to see many good friends.  We reminisced.  We laughed. We cried.  And we got LOTS of hugs.   
louisville_memories
 We lived in Louisville for 6 years while my hubby was in Seminary.  Although we still called SC “home”, we came to love and appreciate the city that was truly our home for those years.  We were all excited to go back for a visit.  This time, going to Louisville was like going “home”.  Funny how that works!!
As we drove into town on Monday, we saw change.  Buildings that weren’t there 3 years ago.  Differences that I am sure we would not appreciate if we were still there.  OR if we had visited often since leaving.   It was pretty cool to hear the kids share what they remembered about a street, an area of town, etc. 
Of course, as we drove into town, my kids agreed that it would be REALLY cool if it snowed while we were there. 
snow
They got their wish.  It snowed all day Thursday and was absolutely beautiful!!
We were able to eat at one of our favorite restaurants and visited Starbucks.  Something we never do at home.  I am not a fan of coffee but will always remember that I came to love Caramel Apple Spice on our New Year’s Louisville trip.
apple_cider
 The great thing about memories is that we can keep making them.  We have so many fond ones from when we lived in Louisville but now we have many very special memories from  this trip.  All of our memories for this trip do not revolve around food, however, I was inspired by my sweet friend Valerie to learn to cook healthier in the coming year.  We’ll see how that goes. {smile}.  I was also inspired in my homeschooling journey.  I spent hours with my friend discussing History curriculum.  I now have a plan for History for years to come.  Isn’t it good to have friends who can encourage?
I mentioned the snow.  It really was beautiful, however, there was one evening and one morning that the KY sky was breathtaking.  I just have to share.
kysky
 So…as you can see, we had a wonderful start to 2014.  Memories old and new are precious.  I plan on making more in the coming year.  They are a blessing.  They are a gift.
Thanks for enduring my walk down memory lane.  I hope that you will join me again, and others, as we continue Blogging through the Alphabet with Marcy over at Ben and Me.
Joy to You!
signature6

One thought on “N…and…M…and…L…

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

