2014 Word of the Year

The past few years I have selected a “word of the year”.
2012 ~ Conform
2013 ~ Diligent
 One that I meditate on and strive to achieve the quality that the word describes.   Now it’s 2014 and I truly believe that my “word for the year” was given to me way back in August.
 This is my word.
impact
What does it mean?
Webster’s 1828 Dictionary gives both the verb and the noun meaning.  I like them both. I can see how both will be applicable in my life as I try to IMPACT my little corner of the world.
Verb: To drive close; to press or drive firmly together.
Noun:  Touch; impression.
I never really thought about it, never considered it, but our lives really do IMPACT those around us…those who come after us ALL. THE. TIME!  Here is how is strikes me:
  • IMPACT as a verb ~ as we come in contact with each other we do have the ability to drive close together.  
  • IMPACT as a noun ~ as we come in contact with each other we touch and leave impressions on them with every action, attitude, and word.
Back in September, I began working part time for a ministry in Myrtle Beach, SC.  It’s called Impact Ministries.  Their mission statement is: “…. to influence those who live, work and vacation in Myrtle Beach and along the Grand Strand with the life-changing love and grace of the Lord Jesus Christ.”
Isn’t that a great mission statement?  Shouldn’t that be what we, as Christ followers, desire to do daily?  Shouldn’t that be what we do everywhere we go?  With everyone we come in contact with?
In November I begin working through Devotions In Genesis for a book launch/review that I participated in a few weeks later.  I can not say enough about this devotional.  It is awesome.  Nicole takes us through Genesis documenting how the lives of Adam and Eve, Abraham, Isaac, Jacob and Esau, and many more impacted the lives of those who came after them.  Even today, you and I are touched by the decisions that they made.  Isn’t it incredible to think of the ripple effect of decisions made long ago?
So this year, I want to IMPACT my children to know and love the Lord with all their heart, all their soul, all their mind, and all their strength (Mark 12:30).  I want to IMPACT my husband in the way I pray for him and in the way that I treat him — with love and respect.  I want to IMPACT those around me by my actions and attitudes.  I want to IMPACT those I come in contact with at the grocery store, restaurants, etc. with the love of Christ.  There are more I am sure…..
This year, I want my own life to be IMPACTED by the Word of God. Colossians 3:16-17 are two of my favorite verses.  They really are all about being IMPACTED by the Word of God.

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

This will be my prayer as I read and study His word this year.  
I pray that your life is also IMPACTED by Christ this year.  I pray that you seek to IMPACT others in some way this year.
This post is linked up with His Mercy Is New.  Click over to see what word others have selected for 2014.  I guarantee you’ll be inspired.  Maybe even IMPACTED!!
Joy to You!

signature6

One thought on “2014 Word of the Year

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

