F & G

F is for ………….Fortress

fort sumter2.1

This is Fort Sumter.  It is the site where the first shot of the Civil War was fired in 1861.   It stands in the Charleston Harbor.  Last spring, Leah’s SC History class visited the fort on a field trip.  Standing inside those walls there was a sense of security.   Of protection. 
As I continue searching for Attributes of God in the Psalms, I keep coming across the word fortress to describe God. 
The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. ~ Psalm 18:2
 But I will sing of your strength, in the morning I will sing of your love; for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble. ~ Psalm 59:16
He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken. ~ Psalm 62:2
I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” ~ Psalm 91:2
 The walls of Fort Sumter are thick.  As I think of the Lord as my fortress, I am comforted in knowing that His love and protection are like those walls.  He surrounds me.  Because of that, as the Psalmist said, I can sing of His strength.  I trust in Him.  I will never be shaken.
G is for ……… Giver of Life

life_quote

A few days ago, I posted a giveaway for a series called Devotions from the Torah.  I am really enjoying reading Nicole Halbrooks Vaughn’s Devotions from Genesis as my quiet time/Bible study material right now.  As I am working my way through Genesis and reading Nicole’s devotional, I came across the phrase “giver of life.”  
I love that phrase.
It’s been on my mind a lot lately, but that’s another for another post.  Today, I want to consider how God truly is the “giver of life.”  He breathed life into Adam.  But before that, he gave life to all the earth.  This includes the plants and animals.  In Genesis 18 God tells Abraham that he will father a child – he is 99.  His wife is 90.  A son was born.  His name was Isaac.  He was given life and entrusted to Abraham and Sarah by God to fulfill the promise made to Abraham that his descendants would be great.
Later in Luke, we are told of another son that would be given life.  And this son would give us eternal life. 
As a child I memorized John 3:16
For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.
 I  may not have completely understood it for quite awhile after I memorized it but oh what a message.  What a wonderful promise.  What a beautiful gift.
I marvel at the Scriptures.  At how the God of Genesis who gave life to the plants, animals and the first man also continues to be the “giver of life” to us today.  Not just physical life but he is the “giver of eternal life” and that is a most precious gift.  My prayer is that you have received that gift, that life. 
 Joy to you!

signature6

6341b-bloggingthroughthealphabetsm
 
 
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

