Not What I Had Planned (our week in review)

In my life this week…   
The older I get, the more I learn that things don’t always go as planned.  Matter of fact, this happens more often than I really like.  This week is a great example of that.  It’s also a great example of the grace and mercy of God in our lives.  We had a medical issue that, thankfully, was not an emergency but it was an event that helped but my week into perspective.  I won’t go into detail in this post but you can read about it here if you like
So the “not planned” things this week were – the medical issue mentioned above, driving to the Upstate of SC for the funeral of a dear friend’s grandmother, cancelled swim team practices (okay, I’ll admit this was kind of nice to have something removed from our normal activity), and an extra shift at youth basketball concessions.  All of this made for an emotional week.  But God is good and He knew the plans for this week.  AND His plans are ALWAYS better than mine!! 
In our homeschool this week…  
 I am glad to report that in the midst of the “unplanned” things, our school days were able to keep mostly to routine.  I’ve said before, I really like normal.  The trip to the Upstate had us schooling on the road one day but isn’t that the beauty of homeschooling?  
In History, Leah is studying all about the Pilgrims.  We found an old episode of FETCH! with Ruff Ruffman on PBS where the kids were in Cape Cod during 1627.  It was cool for her to see how the Pilgrims lived, dressed, worked, etc. 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…   
This is nothing new but flexibility is key…..in life…in homeschooling. 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…   
Steven Curtis Chapman.  Laura Story. Jason Gray.  Friday night went to a concert put on by these three amazing songwriters/singers.  It was 3-1/2 hours of unending worship.  I imagine this is what Heaven will be like.  {smile} My hubby took lots of photos.  Here is a favorite of Steven Curtis and Laura Story singing “How Great Thou Art” – bluegrass style.  It was awesome!
 
concert
 
My favorite thing this week…   
The concert 
My kiddos favorite thing this week…   
The concert 
What’s working/not working for us…   
This week it was flexibility.  
Questions/thoughts I have…  
 I am looking for suggestions for K5 – 1st grade math activities.  Beginning in January, I will be teaching what I am calling “Arithmetic Arena” at our co-op for the younger kids.  We will be reading about math, playing games, etc.  Since I started homeschooling in 2nd grade, I am sure that there are resources that I am not familiar with.  Please let me know what has been a success for you and your kids. 
Things I’m working on…   
I am beginning a new adventure here on my blog as I have joined a book launch team.  I am super excited about the opportunity but there is much to learn to be sure that I cover everything.  It won’t be long and you will see the first launch that I am working on. 
I’m reading …   
Sacred Parenting by Gary Thomas – our class at church on this class has 4 more weeks so I am reading along with the class. I’m also reading a new devotional book – more on that really soon. 
I’m cooking…   
Not much in this crazy week but I have plans to make Apple Butter Muffins next week.  A Pinterest (of course) recipe. 
I’m grateful for…   
Our church family.  
I’m praying for…   
A sweet friend who is losing someone she dearly loves to cancer. 
A photo and, video, link, or a quote to share…  
I shared this photo on Instagram today.  These are my favorite and they are somehow better when you can get a dozen for $1.49.  I bought 2!!
 
cookies-2
 
At the concert Friday night, Jason Gray said,
Nothing is wasted in the hands of our redeemer.
Such a beautiful thought. I need to live my life with this in mind.
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal.
 
HMJ-Logo-500x484
 
Joy to You!
signature6
2 thoughts on “Not What I Had Planned (our week in review)

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

