my CONFIDENCE

Please do not be misled by the title of this post.  Being confident is not something that I excel at.   There are times that I may appear to be confident, but the reality is that I often I have to work at it.  I mean REALLY work at it.

Mondays are when I normally sit down and do a little post I like to call Monday Meditations.  Yesterday I didn’t feel like meditating on anything.  It was pretty much a disaster!  I felt defeated.  Ever felt that way?  I wondered why God thought it would be a good idea for me to be a mom because, honestly, yesterday my mom skills were lacking.  This is where the fact that I am not naturally confident came into play.  Because realizing that I had blown it with my kids made me question if I’m a good wife?  Friend?  Sister? …………… You get the idea.

I sat down for a quiet moment — okay, really it was to have a good cry.  As I sat there, I picked up the book where I am recording the attributes of God found in the Psalms and it opened to my notes on Psalm 71.  The first thing I saw is that “He is my confidence.”  

Don’t tell me the Lord can’t speak to us in our moment of need!  {{smile}}

I began to think about this.  I wondered what “confidence” really means so I went to the dictionary.  According to Webster, confidence is defined as:

  1. A trusting, or reliance; an assurance of mind or firm belief in the integrity, stability or veracity of another, or in the truth and reality of a fact.
  2. Trust; reliance; applied to one’s own abilities, or fortune; belief in one’s own competency. 
  3. That in which trust is placed; ground of trust; he or that which supports.  
  4. Safety, or assurance of safety; security.
  5. Boldness; courage
  6. Excessive boldness; assurance, proceeding from vanity or a false opinion of one’s own abilities, or excellencies.

Number 1 nails it, especially as I think about the Lord.  What a comfort to be able to trust and rely on the integrity and stability of the Lord. I decided to search “confidence” in my Bible app and see what other verses speak of this.  Here are a few favorites:

  • Psalm 71:5 ~ For you have been my hope, O Sovereign LORD, my confidence since my youth.
  • Proverbs 3:26 ~ for the LORD will be your confidence and will keep your foot from being snared.
  • Isaiah 32:17 ~ The fruit of righteousness will be peace; the effect of righteousness will be quietness and confidence forever.
  • Jeremiah 17:7 ~ “But blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD, whose confidence is in him.
  • Hebrews 4:16 ~ Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.
  • Hebrews 13:6 ~ So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”  1 John 5:14 ~ This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.

So I question, do I trust in Him as Jeremiah says?  Do I approach the throne of grace with confidence in my time of need?  Do I look to Him to be my helper?

I’d have to answer “not always.”

Why not?  Because even with my lack of confidence, I still look to myself and my own abilities more than I put my confidence in Him.  Oh that I would rely on Him more.  I cannot be the wife, mother, sister, friend that He has made me to be if I try to do it on my own.  My prayer is that I would understand more fully that my confidence is and should only be in Him.

How about you?  Where does your “confidence” lie?

Joy to You!

signature6

 

 
 

            6341b-bloggingthroughthealphabetsm

                  I’m linking this post up with Benandme.com
2 thoughts on “my CONFIDENCE

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

